We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming!”

Zeke's Uptown Grill
Ranked #12 of 111 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in Uptown Historic Olde Englewood Village, Zeke's is an eclectic Casual Modern American Gourmet Bar & Grill. At Zeke's Uptown you will find a variety of ethnic or geographic flavors and styles (isn't that what "American" really is). When the FOOD is what matters, we select Natural Beef, Pork, Poultry and Seafood that is fresh, Antibiotic Free, Hormone Free, Non-GMO and our vegetables are Natural or Organic products. All are sourced from Local Farms, Fisheries and Purveyors whenever possible. We have a large Gluten Free Menu, cut all of our meats, seafood and poultry; make our own mozzarella, buttermilk biscuits and cinnamon rolls fresh daily and every meal is prepared to order. We want our guests to come and relax, take time to savor great flavors, share a fine wine and good conversation with family or friends. We're family owned and operated and are here to serve you what we hope you will find to be a superior meal and value. We're human, so we're not perfect...But we will always try to make you feel like a part of our extended family. Don't hesitate to ask us anything and we'll do our very best to accommodate you. Recent Awards Include: Bon Appetite's 2015 Best Daytime Dining Restaurant and The Englewood Sun's 2016 Best of Englewood, Best Burger Award.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had high hopes for this restaurant.
We liked the Zeke's on the water. We each had a burger and fries and one ice tea. The bill was $30.00. The burgers came without the fries as the waiter forgot them. We were the only patrons on the dining side. Food average. Service average. Dining room dull. The area between the dining room and bar is separated by industrial looking blinds . I think there is time to improve before busy season. The outside wooden bar with stools will appeal to drinkers on a nice day or night. Unfortunately, there is nothing to look at outside. Zeke's on the water had great views thus the food did not have to be outstanding . With this location, the chef will need to step it up. We have great restaurants on Dearborn Street. This is just not one of them, yet.

Thank marker0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crytopean, Owner at Zeke's Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

I am sorry you found us to be underwhelming and our prices so high. We've only raised the price on one out of the 16 items we brought over from the old location. The 1/2 lb Ice House Burgers are $7.50, our new Waffle Fries are $2.79 for half a pound serving and ice tea is $1.99 - Our specialty burgers which are stacked with fresh ingredients are $9.50.

With that said, even though we use only lean 85/15 ground chuck in our burgers, we're not really a burger joint band we'd love for you to come try any of the new dishes like our Crayfish Potato Nachos, Thai Peanut Flatbread, Bourbon Street Pasta or any of our other fresh, made to order gourmet creations. I am confident you will be very pleased with the food...in fact, I'll personally guarantee it for you.

We are still in our "soft opening" stage....the menu is extremely complex and we knew it would take some time for all of us in the kitchen to produce the 30+ sauces and different plating combination consistent every time no matter which team of chefs is on duty.

Our front of house staff is new as well and we expect it will take a little time for our servers to learn all of the items and what our expectations are as well. Staffing can take several months before you can see/find those who will and who won't be right for Zeke's.

...and yes, we had been told by the previous tenant that it would be a good idea to separate the bar from the dining room. I built a wall of 160 wooden slats so that it would allow light and ventilation, yet provide privacy for diners from the bar. We have more to do in terms of decor which we will do over the next few months.

We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 363 of 363 reviews

Travelers who viewed Zeke's Uptown Grill also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Zeke's Uptown Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing