We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't disappoint”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I am fortunate to live close enough to be able to eat at Farlow's without driving a great distance, but I haven't written about the restaurant before. As my title says, Farlow's doesn't disappoint. The food is fresh and imaginative; my recent St. Croix Cranberry Chicken Salad (a specialty) was full of plump strawberries, raspberries, and more. I don't think I've ever had a bad meal or poor service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Broomhilda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Sounds like you live in the best location! We're so glad to have made your list of go-to spots, and it makes us happy to hear that you enjoy the menu and service here. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this review. Can't wait to have you back soon.

Cheers!
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    371
    143
    61
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southeast
Level Contributor
198 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing scallops”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a nice, clean restaurant with amazing service. The calamari was horrible but the sweet server took it off our bill. We ordered the Caribbean Seafood Delight and it was the best scallops I have ever had in my life! Prices were great!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cometexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
We're so glad you all loved the scallops and had such a great meal with us. We're sorry that the calamari wasn't quite your taste, but it's great to hear that your server took care of it for you. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Ambiance, Food, Service & Place To Enjoy Long Lunch With Dear Friends”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Even during 90 degree temperatures, we enjoyed a delightful lunch on the covered patio where we had the benefit of a lovely breeze and views of the water and lush vegetation. I enjoyed an outstanding salad of cobia, pear & cranberries on fresh greens. My friends enjoyed a beautiful local fish dish and "the best scallops I've ever had."
We enjoyed hours of attentive service and no pressure to move on. It was a birthday celebration and we certainly had a memorable afternoon.
All agreed, we will be back - and that involves a drive of more than 90 minutes.
Suggest you include a visit to a beautiful primitive beach not far away on Beach Road - it makes a terrific day!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Is there anything better than spending a day by the water with good food and good friends, Cynthia? We're so happy to have made the celebration so special for you all. You're compliments on the food are great to hear, and we'll make sure the rest of the staff hears them. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“View and good food”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Located on a bay with mangroves provides a peaceful setting. Nicely landscaped and ample outdoor and indoor seating. This is a nicer place but still can dress casual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We're so happy that you love our location, Elizabeth. We're definitely lucky to be in such a beautiful place. Thanks for spreading the word about us -- can't wait to have you back!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great food, delicious entrees, generous portions, speedy service, pleasant waiters, great view, gorgeous gardens, reasonably priced - knowing all that, what more could I say about this place, except I wish we lived closer.
We even met the owner which added to or enjoyment. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
What sweet compliments, Carol -- thanks so much! We'll make sure the rest of the team knows they're doing alright in your book. Can't wait to have you back again soon.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing