We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Far lows on the water has both indoor and outdoor covered seating. The food is always good and has a variety of tropical drinks to enjoy. A choice of locals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for sharing this review, Jeanne! We hope you'll continue to dine with us, and we'll work hard to perfect your experiences and earn that final star -- we're confident we can make it happen!

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    371
    143
    61
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

On the recommendation of the owner of the Pearl Beach Inn my wife and I went to Farlow's for a late dinner, arriving about 8:00 pm. All tables were full but our wait time was only 3-4 minutes at most before we were seated in the outdoor area. Service was very good and meals excellent. I had the coconut shrimp and found it to be probably the best I've ever had.

The only negative for the two of us regarded noise/volume. There was a guitarist providing live music on this evening and we ended up being seated at the table closest to him. Naturally, a full restaurant is quite loud from all the conversations going on. Add live music to this mix and being nearest the speakers and we were unable to carry on a conversation except between songs and after the guitarist ended for the night. This is a minor complaint and not a deal breaker by any means. It is just something a person should be aware of.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northernRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Over from the UK on another visit to this wonderful area. Visited Farlow's many times over the years but was incredibly disappointed this time! My son had coconut shrimp ( a house speciality) and he had 5 shrimps? My husband had fish pie and it was cold in the centre. I had Triggerfish, good taste but not hot. We felt very rushed, had not eaten the salad before the main came. Knowing a lot about cooking and prep, there is no way this food could have been cooked fresh, it had all the hallmarks of frozen meals. The price you charge I expect better! Ok, you did not charge my husband for his meal, but it still cost $65 for two meals and three drinks. Come on Farlow's, get a reality check!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that this is the visit that left such a lasting impression with you, Elaine -- especially after so many great experiences with us in the past! It sounds like we dropped the ball on the food front here, and we hope you'll accept our sincerest apologies for that. It seems like you and your family are pretty familiar with our offerings, so we're sure you'll agree that this is not usual for us. If you're ever unhappy with the way your meal comes out, please don't hesitate to let us know. Your satisfaction is our top priority, so we'll always do everything we can to make it right. If you have any further comments or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out directly -- we'd welcome the opportunity to make a better impression.

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have been there twice for lunch. I love the Carribean Scallop Salad and have gotten it twice. My husband has gotten the grouper and he says it is the best. Service is excellent and setting is great. If the weather is nice, sit in the screened outdoor room. Get there early as the lines are long! We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Those are great choices, JoAnne, and we're so glad that you and your husband have both found dishes you love! Thanks for taking a moment to share this fabulous review, and your recommendation. We hope you'll be dining with us for many years to come.

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Farlows has consistently good food- it is VERY busy in February and March- and still busy at other times. Sometimes the tuna steak has too much gristle in it and the Hollandaise sauce is not very good but I have no complaints besides that.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank greyrock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We're always open to feedback, and we'll be sure to pass yours along to the kitchen. We'd love to welcome you again soon so that we can work to earn that final star!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing