We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

There were 12 ladies in our group who went for lunch. They made us feel very welcome, took our orders promptly and correctly, and let us take the time we needed for a memorable lunch. Prices were good, as was the food. The seating along the water is wonderful, and the gardens are nicely kept. Clean washrooms as well. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Walkabout2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We can't wait to have you back, and we're so glad that you and your party had a great lunch. Please let us know what stands between us and that perfect rating, and we'll do our best to make it disappear. Thanks for the great review!

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,234 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

You must disregard the review on take out because this is not a McDonald's...
They are an excellent seafood restaurant geared for on site service.. Who would Want a $25 dinner served to them Luke warm is beyond me... Always a waiting line because of great meals... I recommend you come early... It's worth it.. ED GOLONKA, A NEW LOCAL FROM NY

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful feedback, Edward, and we look forward to having you back again. We appreciate your recommendation more than you know!

Sincerely,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

It was the day before my fiancés birthday both had to work on his birthday so we went out the night before asked him where he wanted to go he said farlows of course. Got to farlows it was packed, hostess said 75-80 minute wait which is expected in season, so we put our name on the list & had a drink at the outside bar, deb the bartender was great got our drinks real quick. Seats opened at the bar we sat down & were waited on with In the minute. We actually like the bar so it worked out perfect. We ordered the coconut shrimp, yumm! I got the strip steak & Matt got the swordfish both were outstanding & can't forget debs suggestion on the salads to use ranch & the house dressing!!! Yumm! We had a wonderful experience & he had a great birthday dinner! Thanks to all that contributed. We will be back :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're so grateful that you decided to spend this special occasion with us, and that your evening was such a success. Thank you for sharing this review, Kristy, and we'd love to welcome you back again in the very near future. We truly appreciate your recommendation!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Paid $37 for Grouper Platter and 2 clam chowders; tiny piece of fish and they omitted one side AND the salad! Pitiful!! At Lock and Key even their Grouper Finger basket is a pile of fish (and delicious). Wanted to watch game and did Farlow's as just across street from our hotel. We are from Orlando and visit this area often. Love many of your fine restaurants......Farlow's not so much!! Left us feeling hungry and ripped off!

Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're not accustomed to hearing feedback like this, Nikki, and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance to offer the sort of experience that we generally deliver -- which is something much closer to five stars. Apologies for the issues you had, and we hope you'll keep us posted on your future visits.

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Whether it is lunch or dinner, we are never disappointed with Farlows! We are locals born and raised, so we do understand that during season there will most likely be a wait for a table...( we don't care.. we wait!) But, when it's off season, they always remember our loyalty and we are even more pampered! My favorite thing is their specials menu! I just love to try new stuff and I am never let down! The fish and salads are fresh fresh and the clam chowder with fresh buttered crusty bread is delish on a rainy afternoon. My husband has been digging the blue cheese burger lately but his all time favorite is blackened swordfish over the rock island salad. The prices are terrific btw.. we go for lunch and without any alcohol we can both eat like kings for around 25- 30 bucks total bill! Sometimes we go a little later and catch the sunset menu prices which are a great deal as well! I just can not say enough how much we love this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

And we can't say enough how much your loyalty and support mean to us, Julee, and how much we appreciate this absolutely glowing review! Thank you for always being a friendly face, and for your stellar recommendation. We can't wait to welcome you back for many years to come!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing