We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant with great food, service and location.”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and dine here often. We enjoy the Caribbean-inspired menu - don't miss the crab salad. The outdoor dining with the water as a backdrop is very special. The waitstaff is friendly and attentive. The live music complements the atmosphere without being intrusive.

Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We're so grateful for your loyalty, Skip. Thanks for making us a regular stop -- it's so nice to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere, as well as the food and the service. We hope we'll be serving you and your wife for many years to come!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for Farlow's On The Water
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,224 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was taken here for my 30th meal out with my family and was sadly very disappointed. The setting is fabulous if you sit outside, really pretty and felt very special. I don't think I would sit inside as it looked a little like a diner which it isn't. Drinks and appetizers were great, we had a sharing platter and it was delicious so expected a lot from the main meal. For my entree, I ordered scallops with blue crab, artichokes and asiago cheese but when it arrived, it was in a small oven dish like a lasagna and was absolutely swimming in a creamy, cheesy sauce. I could hardly find the scallops and couldn't taste the crab as the sauce was so overpowering. The meal was also only luke warm which just made the sauce more inedible. I was expecting something, light and flavorsome to show off the seafood but didn't get this. We didn't make any fuss but told the waiter we didn't like our choice and he told us it was their 'award winning dish', not sure what award would have won this! Anyway, I wouldn't go back and waste my money as it was very expensive for what it was and have obviously been spoiled at other venues.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruthiecullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Though we don't assume we can please absolutely everyone, we're confident that you could find a dish you'd love on our menu. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with your entree, and we'd love to have you back again to try out something else. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the view and the appetizers you had, and we're hopeful that your server took good care of you. We'll keep our fingers crossed that we get another opportunity to impress you!

Sincerely,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Drove down from Tampa, where we are staying for our vacation, to visit family. They choose Farlow's and they couldn't have made a better choice.

They have incredible gardens that are located right on the water. We were able to locate several snook on their new gorgeous deck over the water.

The food was absolutely outstanding. I had Blue Nose Snapper flown in from Hawaii. Cant find that type of fish in Tampa! My wife had their diver scallops and they were divine. Someone else had the filet, which is hand cut, and it was done perfect. If you are close to this restaurant you must go. I highly recommend!

Thank Harrold_Peterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Your recommendation means so much, Harrold, and we're so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your meals here, as well as the atmosphere. We hope you'll come see us again if you're ever in the area! Again, thank you for joining us and for sharing this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wish we found this place earlier. I had the macadamia crusted chicken salad which was out of this world. I used the sweet & sour dressing instead of the suggested and it was a great choice. Service was a bit slow but it was very busy and our waitress (Theda) was excellent. We had to wait for a table and did so in the "garden" and there was a man and woman singing and the woman was excellent, man OK. There are walkways that go out to the water and they have lights placed in the water and you can see the fish. I though this was pretty cool. Highly recommend this place for dinner or to sit and have some drinks and listen to good music in a pleasant atmosphere .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magicsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We're thrilled that you found us, though we wish it had been sooner, too. Thanks so much for coming in and it's beyond flattering to hear that our salad ranked so high on your list of lifetime salads! Wow! We'll be sure to pass along your praises to Theda and to the musicians. Please do come see us again when you're next in the area, and thank you so much for recommending us.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have been visiting Farlows ever since they opened. It was always one of our favorites. We Visited earlier this year and had a very poor server who seemed to be rushing us to finish our meal. We were hesitant in returning, but thought we would give the place another try. Our server was Jo, started off ok but the main entree arrived before we had all finished our starter and before any of the plates were cleared. Then she asked if we would like a dessert or coffee before we had all finished eating the entree. We were not really given the time to reply before the check came. It was just after 9 pm there were empty tables so cant understand what the rush was for. We were enjoying the live music but were not really given the chance to reply. .You should not be made to feel like you are in a race when you go out to eat.Nothing wrong with the food,location is great,live music was excellent but the experience very poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We're very sorry -- and quite frankly, embarrassed -- that you had this experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and know that we'll be discussing this with our staff. Of course you shouldn't feel rushed; you should be encouraged to enjoy your meal and the atmosphere at a leisurely pace. It's great to hear that the food and live music was so good, but very upsetting to know that it was made less enjoyable because of the service. We hope you'll consider giving us another try -- we'll make sure this doesn't happen again.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing