We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a great view”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have had very good meals here, a night out for my husband and myself, for 12 of us on a fun night out, and a family meal with our two young grand daughters. The staff went out of their way to make sure the meals had no dairy for our grand daughters. The owners and all of the staff make sure you are well taken care of. If in the area you should make sure to have a meal or two. You may have to wait if you go in the evening, so plan on having a drink or two while waiting. We have gotten right in in the afternoon with no wait. They have a very large choice of foods and drinks, and the prices are very good for what you get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DannaKHicksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing this lovely review, and we appreciate your continued support and loyalty. It's our pleasure to take care of you and your husband, and of course your granddaughters. We hope to do so for many years to come.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,281 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last week dined here ... although undergoing renovations, was wonderful. Fantastic food and the fresh fish options were endless as well as the martini varieties! Great view and grounds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jillthetravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you! We're so happy to hear that you loved the food, drinks and view. We hope to have you back for more just as soon as possible.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Short and to the point, my wife and I went there on our anniversary and it was excellent. I had blackened swordfish and it was probably the best fish I've ever had. The staff and service was great and the restaurant itself was very nice. I highly recommend eating here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Wow! This is a stellar review, James, and we truly appreciate it. The blackened swordfish was an excellent choice, and we're so pleased to hear that you had great service and enjoyed the whole evening. You deserve nothing less on your anniversary, and we're honored that you spent it with us! Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to having you and your wife back very soon.

Best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been to Farlow's three times now, and I've been meaning to review it. From the ambience (we like to eat outside, overlooking the garden patio and the river) to the food to the island music, we've never been disappointed. If fish is your deal, then the fish here, including shellfish, is always perfectly prepared. For lunch I normally order a salad without the restaurant's fruity Caribbean fixin's, simply because I don't care for fruit with my main dish, and with a grilled or blackened bit of seafood. Always delicious and a good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzymobile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks so much for this wonderful review, and for your continued support and loyalty. We can't wait to have you back a fourth and fifth time — and many times thereafter! It's great to hear that you like the atmosphere, music, and food so much, and that you have your go-to lunch salad all picked out. We truly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to having you back again very soon.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I love the Atmosphere here! Its a little priceier than other resturants, yet worth it! Their fresh fish selection is fabulous.. Many different types..They also feature live music on weekends. Staff is friendly, informative, and well knowledged regarding the local seafood. This is a date night destination. Also a showoff place to bring your visitors or if your visiting. Their garden area outside, overlooking the creek is fabulous at night. We had a wonderful evening, and would not hesitate to go back. Actually, i'm looking forward to it... You may even see a rare saw tooth fish off their walkway behind the resturant and they have information on other marine life, right in their backyard.... Must see

Thank Sharkgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks for your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoy our atmosphere, fresh fish selection and friendly staff. We're proud of that gorgeous view, so I'm happy you've been showing it off! I appreciate you letting your fellow reviewers know about the fun marine life—those insider tips are great! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. -- Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing