We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Englewood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Felt like we were in the islands. We came in for lunch and had to come back the next evening for dinner before leaving the area. The food was the best we have had in Florida and the atmosphere was great. Cannot wait to come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winkie469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear that you "felt like you were in the islands" when you came in for lunch and dinner, and that we can expect to see you again. We're looking forward to it!

Sincerely,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    385
    149
    63
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our third time eating at Farlow's and it never disappoints. Everything we have ordered has been perfect, from the grouper, cobia and scallops to their house special which is shrimp and scallops in a cream sauce wrapped in a puff pastry, yum! There is an outside patio with lovely gardens where you can have drinks while waiting for your table. They do not take reservations and the wait can be painfully long!! You can call ahead for a table which will shorten your wait time substantially. Farlow's has become our favorite Englewood restaurant and my compliments to the staff, not only do they work really hard but they do it with a smile on their face!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justretired09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. We're glad to hear that you've always been impressed with your experience with us—I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the kitchen and staff. Thanks also for the insider tip about the patio and calling ahead—I know other reviewers appreciate that kind of information! Looking forward to your next visit.

Take care,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best fresh seafood within 50 miles!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in Englewood for the month and just can't stay away from Farlows! We try other locations with friends but end up back at this busy (evidence of the great food, drinks and service) restaurant for their delicious and extensive selection of good and drinks. The live music in the garden and boardwalk to stroll on is icing on the cake! (Be sure to call ahead as the wait can be long)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Channing1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear that you've enjoyed your visits and that the food, drinks and service have always been impressive. Thanks also for the insider tip about calling ahead—I know your fellow reviewers appreciate that kind of information! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here around 8pm. Place was still busy but the staff was really friendly and got us in quickly. Starters were great! Mains were all great for us all. I got a special crab stuffed tripletail fish that was amazing. My wife got a chicken with raspberries she really enjoyed and my mother in law got the Mahi Mahi which she also loved. The mashed potatoes were awesome for a side. I would come back here again or recommend to friends any day.

Helpful?
Thank Lsc2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that the crab stuffed tripletail fish was amazing. I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the kitchen. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bring your own food if you're hungry”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I are frequent visitors from the New York New Jersey metropolitan area. We have eaten at this restaurant and many others in the area over the last 10 years. Usually we get decent service at this place but Sunday night was much different.. Although the food here is pretty average, the atmosphere is generally nice and the bar service is usually excellent. When we arrived at 6:45 we were told that there would be a 30 minute wait. We requested first available seating and went to the bar where we were handled very aptly by a nice and friendly young man. Since we were waiting for 30 minutes he suggested that we may want to read the menus to "speed up" the order process. After 30 minutes had passed we asked the woman at the reservation table how long we had to go to be seated. She said that we could sit right now inside but that we still had 2 people ahead of us for outside! We reminded her that we had asked for first available. After being seated our waitress asked if would like some drinks while looking at the menu. We told her that wasn't necessary, we had already read the menu and would order now. We ordered 2 specials and the couple that was with us ordered 2 orders of scallops. Our soup and salads arrived in a few minutes and we were pleased that we were finally eating! That was the last we saw of our waitress. One hour later at 8:15 our waitress suddenly appeared and said she was sorry for the delay but that she would check on the state of our food. She also said that she would send the manager out to talk to us. .Fifteen minutes later and we saw no one. The waitress finally appeared again and asked what we wanted to do. We told her to forget the order and that we would just go somewhere else. She said she would tell the kitchen. When we got up from the table the manager (some blond who we doubt was really the manager) finally came out from her hiding place and asked why we were leaving. We told her the obvious and she said there was no reason to leave now . The food was coming. We left. We had only ordered 2 specials and 2 orders of scallops. Even cooked to order these don't take 1 1/2 hours to cook. Many patrons had come in, ordered, eaten and left before they even cared about us. This is just a local place that we've been to before. We get the impression that these people think they are more than what they are.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Joe,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us the other night. I am happy to hear that you're a frequent visitor when you're in town, but very saddened that your recent visit was such a disappointing one. I am sorry to hear about the miscommunication about the wait time, and especially for the long wait on your meal. It's frustrating but sometimes we have off-nights, and it sounds like this was such an occasion. We are very sorry for the lapse in service, and hope you'll forgive us. I know we can do better next time, and would love to see you and your wife again.

All our best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing