We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you like good seafood, head here! Be sure to sit outside under the arbor/awning for a better atmosphere. Good value, good service, and even some live music. They stop admitting at 8 PM, and they seem to want to shut down by 9, so get there by 7 if you want to linger a little. We are going back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review! We're happy to hear that you love our seafood, atmophere and service. Thanks for the insider tip for lingerers, I know your fellow TripAdvisors appreciate those tips! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for Farlow's On The Water
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,325 - 1,329 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to Farlow's for the first time. Our in-laws had been there before and said the food was good but you need to get there early if you don't want to wait for a table. They were right. We arrived at 5PM and by 6 the place was packed. Everyones food was very good although I didn't particularly care for my steak au pouvre. Should have gotten the seafood. We sat outside, which I would recommend. Not a very fancy place but good food, good service, at a very reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Tom, Thank you for your excellent review. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us. I'm sorry you weren't happy with the steak au poivre, and hope you'll come back to try the seafood. I know you'll find something you love! All the best, Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Over the last year, Farlow's treatment of their customers has steadily declined. This last trip there will truly be our last. They don't accept reservations, and have you call an hour before you want to eat, and put your name on a list. The promise is "you will be seated promptly, or wait no more than 15 minutes". A few weeks ago, we waited an hour and a half! Last week, we waited 40 minutes beyond the promised time. Finally seated, appetizers ordered, and two of us had to wait 25 minutes beyond the arrival of our guests appetizers. When the entrees arrived, two of the four dinners were stone cold. All in all, a most unsatisfactory experience. We heard numerous complaints from other diners, and one employee confided to us that the owners have lost all interest in customer relations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank douggherlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for bringing our attention to your recent bad experience. I assure you that you were misinformed—we care deeply about customer relations and experience! We're sorry to hear that your last meal with us was cold, and that you had a longer-than-expected wait time. That is certainly not the level of service we want to provide—we want every guest to leave with a great impression. We appreciate your feedback, and will be addressing the issues. I hope you'll give us another chance to impress you again soon. Take care, Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate lunch here on a Sunday and were impressed with the interesting menu selections. Started with a Placida margarita for my wife and I tried the white sangria; excellent drinks with lots of flavor and generous amount of alcohol. For an appetizer, loved the Kentucky style fried green tomatoes dipped in cornmeal with tangy dipping sauce on the side. Wife chose grilled fish dish with veggies and I opted for pompano with mango, pineapple and rice. Both dishes were on the special Sunday menu and were delicious with tastes of the Caribbean. Portions were light and just right for lunch and we both had desserts and coffee to top of a great meal experience. Service was island paced since the place was busy but we were not in a hurry and had time to really savor the food. Will come back for a dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for your excellent review! We appreciate your business and feedback, and were happy to hear that you enjoyed everything. The white sangria is definitely a favorite around here. Great choices on both of the dishes! We're so happy that everything was delicious and the overall meal was a good experience. We look forward to seeing you and your wife in for dinner sometime soon.
Sincerely,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Once you get by the canned music, the food is well prepared and served, and certainly not over priced as some have suggested. Decor a bit tired. Recommend as a casual lunch place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Killdeer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thanks for taking a moment to leave your review on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the price point. We appreciate your feedback about the ambiance, and hope you'll continue to visit us for lunch. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Take care,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing