We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere wonderful and food is great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farlow's On The Water

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Atmosphere wonderful and food is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just love the gardens and views, the background music on week-ends just completes the picture. Food is outstanding except the escargot, only disappointment in the multiple times we've been there. Always recommend this restaurant to my visitors and haven't had anyone be disappointed yet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiesrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    358
    137
    60
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Englewood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Full Disclosure: I cook at another restaurant in town. Farlow's is the only other place I'll eat at in Englewood.

Their mussels are classic!!! Order and extra basket of bread to mop up all the sauce. You won't be sorry.

Super friendly staff & laid back, island atmosphere. Great place to kill an afternoon by the water.

Highly Recommded

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hayduke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Far lows is really really good. Have eaten their several times. Consistently good food and service. Nice outdoor seating area with nice gardens and views. Indoor seating as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rnlms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

After reading reviews on TA, we were excited to try Farlows. When we arrived, we were not disappointed in the beautiful setting right on the water, the fun Caribbean atmosphere and outdoor live music. We arrived at 8PM and had a 45 minute wait, which did not surprise us since the place is so popular. But after being seated at our table indoors the entire experience changed. Our server made us feel very rushed. He quickly wrote down our orders, but took at least 10 minutes to bring the drinks. (We never did receive soda or water refills the rest of the evening.) Then after a 30 minute wait our food arrived (delivered by another person, even though our server was still there) and two of the 3 orders were wrong. I had ordered sweet potatoes for a side and received mashed. Our friend ordered corn pudding, but got broccoli. We told the delivery person about the mistake, but had to wait for our server to respond and unappologetically correct the order. The scallop, artichoke & crab bake ($22) I had was rich & delicious, but the sides were tasteless. My husband's scallops were small and overcooked. The portion was small and for the price of $22, was not a good value. All in all, I would not return except to have drinks at the tiki bar outside and enjoy the music.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h0mefree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The atmosphere was terrific and so was the seafood. They have a large menu and wonderful ambience. We will definately return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing