We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sandwich, terrible service”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Lynden, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sandwich, terrible service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We tried Farlows based on TripAdvisor reviews. We had the Cuban sandwich, and it was DELISH! Fries were cold, but the sandwich was yummy. Our server was terrible -- took us forever to get our drinks (water and a coke; they arrived long after our food), after we got our sandwiches we were pretty much ignored, took forever to get our bill, etc. The server did say, "Sorry, I'm having an off day." So, even she knew the service was really bad.

We would go back for the food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    380
    146
    62
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great location, friendly staff and outstanding food that is well worth the price. I particularly like their Coconut shrimp, pecan crunch grouper and grouper Oscar. The dinner salad with the candied pecans and raspberry vinaigrette is super!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chessy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Island-y feel, great ecclectic menu!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I've been to Farlow's many times over the years. I do not live in Englewood, but my parents do, and Farlow's isn't too far from their home.
The food and atmosphere have never disappointed, the service has. For several years, on every visit, including our family celebration for my Mom's 80th birthday, we were unfortunate enough to get the same server. We were rushed and constantly interupted on that night, and there were many open tables, so it wasn't as if someone were waiting for ours. We even politely told our server that this was a family celebration, and we were in no rush, but obviously, this made no difference. Same server on other lunch visits kept coming back to the table so often, that we barely got a sentence or two out without being interupted. We like good service, but a good server can just be present by walking by, and we will be happy to quietly let her/him know that we are in need of something.
I am happy to say that the last two times we dared to visit, we had a server who was just fine. We loved our meals and the atmosphere, and we were able to have a nice, uninterupted conversation. Now, I truly look forward to my next meal at Farlow's!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stjohnlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Huge selection of foods, including organic choices. Offers Carribean dishes as well. There is a lovely vine covered garden dining area too. We always see a few birds and maybe a boat on the inlet there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The setting rivals the food for your attention at Farlow's”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Whether you choose to dine in simple air-conditioned surroundings or on a vine-covered garden patio, whether you call the water Ainger or Rocky Creek, whether you are looking for a taste of the Caribbean or of the Old South, you have found your destination at Farlow’s in Englewood. The main problem we encountered was choosing from the already extensive regular menu and the more than twenty specials that supplement it.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine and Alvi... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing