We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“date night dinner”
Review of Blue Lagoon - CLOSED

Blue Lagoon
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on Beautiful Coral Creek with boat access and waterfront dining in our 2700 sq ft covered and screened in patio with full bar. Entertainment every weekend inside our dining room.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“date night dinner”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

went out for dinner last night and decided to go to the Blue Lagoon for a change.....what a beautiful restaurant! we both had a salad (fresh and crisp just the way I like them) Frank tried one of the nightly specials (about 12.00) mussels and clams over linguine, can have your choice of either red sauce or white ... he chose the red and said it was perfect (must have been he did not offer me a taste!) I ordered from the regular menu and had the rib eye w/a side of risotto..... that steak was cooked perfectly and as usual more than I could eat so part came home for breakfast! The risotto was amazing...so tasty I could have eaten a bowl of that alone YUMMMM. Frank had the peanut butter pie for desert...... it was light and creamy (I understand the owner, Peggy makes the deserts) it was delightful... truly a lovely meal from the 1st bite to the last..... we will really have to go on other nights and try some of the other specials the Thursday night offerings looked interesting too....they have entertainment on Saturday evenings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ravensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good, friendly service and tasty food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited here once under the old owners and enjoyed our meal. We were therefore very pleased when the restaurant re-opened after a long closure. The new owners have redecorated and changed the layout of the restaurant. We liked the new decoration but were not so keen on the new layout. It appeared to make the restaurant seem more cramped. The food was good but the choice was fairly limited. The service was friendly and attentive.
One of the earlier reviews said that it was not easy to tell from the highway if the restaurant was open. That is true but the clue is whether there are any cars in the car park.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
233 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice Place (with Crickets)”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been to the Blue Lagoon a few times before the current owner took this place over. It was always a pretty good place to stop in for a drink and maybe a dinner. Today the place is nicer than ever, it's all cleaned up and with plenty of parking and a nice new tile bar. They have great entertainment, and almost no customers. (Hear the crickets?)

And believe me, if you go, you'll enjoy the place. But there is an issue--you can't see the front of the place as you drive down the highway it's on--Rt 775, (AKA Placida Road). Since the place was closed for about a year or more, so going there may not occur to you--and from the highway, you can't tell if the place is open or not.

Naturally this time of year the tourists have pretty well abandoned the Suncoast of Florida in favor of early golf in the north, or planting their summer gardens, or spending Easter with the kids up north. But if you are in this vicinity, stop in and enjoy the Blue Lagoon--

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This restaurant has a beautiful decor and is one of the cleanest in Englewood. We were a group of 6 and I'm sorry to say it was our first visit, even tho we all are in englewood for at least 6 months each year. We were seated near a beautiful large window and enjoyed watching the thunderstorm we had. The music was great and alto were were right next to the piano, it was soft enough to enjoy our conversations. Now for the food.....we had read some poor reviews so were were uncertain as to the quality of food and service. We all had different choices, from salmon, shrimp scampi, eggplant parm, chicken parm, mussels and chicken Caesar salad. Everyone of our dishes were prepared well and very flavorful. All meals came out together and were hot. We all enjoyed our entire meal and dessert. The service was just fine and friendly. We all commented that we were sorry we had not been here before. This is a beautiful classy restaurant and although the prices may be abit high for Englewood, they are worthy for the atmosphere AND food. You can even dance there and last nights music was perfect for dancing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl-711-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst itailian meal”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We had chicken parm, when it was served it looked odd, but they claim the chef was from the north end of Boston, well no chef, never mind a north end chef would use corn meal to bread their chicken....it was just awful, we were the only ones in the place, and while the decor was very nice, I worked to hard to pay for such terrible food, once was plenty, either loose the kitchen staff, know your food offering, or open a bowling alley..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 143suep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing