We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Codfather's Seafood & Grille - CLOSED

Codfather's Seafood & Grille
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We're a scratch kitchen specializing in freshly prepared and flavorful seafood, chicken, pork and beef dishes. We even make our own butter! We pride ourself on the friendly atmosphere and invite you to come, Relax & Enjoy!
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
436 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Busy little restaurant that does take reservations. We were a bit early and had to wait a while for our table. The hostess was quite concerned that we had to wait but we sat at the bar and looked at the menu. A nice window table came up shortly. We had heard that the service was very fast here and we like a bit slower pace. We ordered a bottle of wine to start. Wine prices are decent and the Pinot Grigio was cold and put in an ice bucket. We ordered the teriyaki mushroom appetizer to start. We ordered dinner after we had finished the appetizer and told our server that we weren't in a big rush. Dinners come with a side salad, vegetable and choice of starch (mashed potatoes, French fries, white rice). The menu changes weekly and has a wide variety of choices plus daily specials. Salads were very basic but the house honey balsamic dressing was great. Warm bread is served in a basket. The chicken Marsala was good and you could get it served with penne. The blue and bleu scallops were good but not what I imaged. I expected seared scallops with a blueberry glaze drizzle and crumbled bleu cheese (that is what the menu stated). The scallops came in a ramekin swimming in a buttery sauce....not a sign of any blueberries anywhere...and melted bleu cheese on the top. The scallops were really good and you got lots for the price. I enjoyed them regardless of the lack of blueberry colour and flavour. But I was disappointed.
Desserts sounded good but we had no room. Next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    21
    11
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vashon Island WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superior food with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Living on a nearby island with limited restaurant availability, I've enjoyed Codfather's congenial atmosphere and tasty menu numerous times since its 2013 opening. Choices worth note are the Ahi and Calamari. Great tap beer selection, cook and wait staff who really care that customers enjoy themselves, and well prepared entrees set Codfather's above local eateries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Decided to have an early dinner at cod father's tonight. Enjoyed the walnut glazed chicken and it was fantastic. Great mashed potatoes and veggies. Sat at the bar with a good group of locals. Great atmosphere and food! Nice job.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoveboyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I WANNA KEEP THIS A SECRET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Upon reading the other reviews on here we chose to give this place a try. We went in and were promptly seated and greeted by our server Nate. He kept us engaged in conversation and explained to us how the restaurant came to be. The food was amazing and his food knowledge was beyond any that I've experienced by other severs. My wife had the parm scallops and they were baked to perfection and I enjoyed the Lemon Bay shrimp, they we're juicy and cooked exactly they way they should be. The salads were by far better than most I've had in other restaurants, and the balsamic dressing was soooo good. The rest of the staff here is so friendly and you can tell that they all care about their jobs. Joe the owner even stopped by our table and he was so friend and quite witty. We really wanna kep this place a secret, but I guess others have the right to enjoy the same as we did. We saw one or two bad reviews on this place but we all know you can't please everyone. So I say ignore those reviews and take my word on this place. So ask for him and tell him we sent you.


Thanks again to all the staff, and best regards; Jim

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We found this place via Trip Advisor and I have to agree with the majority of positive reviews. We visited with 3 generations of one family this evening and were quickly seated and given fresh bread and cool water - our waitress Tammy correctly spotted that we were all dry as a bone after a great day on the beach!

We had the calamari (delicious), spicy shrimp bombers (plate cleared by the eldest child), crab bisque and clam chowder (both home made and very tasty), with fish and chips and chicken fingers for the kids - not a scrap left on their plates. The adult entrees included a fine Cajun seafood hot pot, zucchini (courgette) stuffed with crab and the blackened salmon, all of which were cooked to perfection.

There is a good choice of bottled and draft beer (we would recommend the hand crafted Yuengling lager, more of a light ale than a lager and full of flavour), and a short but adequate wine list.

If we ever swing by this part of Florida again we will be sure to make a stop at the Codfathers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHoliday99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather's Seafood & Grille also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing