We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding seafood & friendly service”
Review of Codfather's Seafood & Grille - CLOSED

Codfather's Seafood & Grille
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We're a scratch kitchen specializing in freshly prepared and flavorful seafood, chicken, pork and beef dishes. We even make our own butter! We pride ourself on the friendly atmosphere and invite you to come, Relax & Enjoy!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood & friendly service”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reading rave reviews of the restaurant on Trip Advisor, we decided to try it in our quest for the best seafood in the area. Happy to report that we were treated to some of the best seafood and the friendliest service we encountered around Englewood. For a tasty appetizer, my wife and I shared spicy shrimp wrapped in bacon & jalapeno with homemade horseradish sauce. Got to have this one again. The sourdough bread with whipped butter was also a great appetizer. Dinner entrees of parmesan crusted grouper and baked grouper in lemon basil butter were excellent with a properly chilled sauvignon blanc wine from New Zealand. Topped off the dinner with desserts of key lime pie (nice tartness not messed up with whipped creams or overly sweet sauces) and ricotta filled cake with homemade mousse (light and yummy). Ask for Nate for 1st class, friendly service. Don't miss this place..its well worth the drive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    21
    11
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly, best shrimp ever”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are in town visiting and checked tripdvisor for the best place to go. Cod Fathers we were treated like family, no better than. Family! The portions were huge, the salad fresh and yummy, the AYCE fish was to die for the shrimp was the best I've ever had! Our server, Tina, was in training but you couldn't tell at all--she was amazing.

Wish we were here longer we could eat there more!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amys289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh my COD!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this place was! If you don't try the shrimp wrapped in bacon with a touch of jalepeno tucked inside, you my friend(s) are missing the BOAT! That is just for beginners! Great thing is they are the only restaurant we have found that has a joyous selection of GF items! and it means so much to us!! We actually drove in the parking lot a month ago and left because we weren't sure and it was a peculiar location. Finally went back to try again and now we are HOOKED! Love, Love, Love the Owners and Staff. Unbeknownst to us, these folks are from Maine and so are we. Ahhh, I knew they would know what to do with the seafood dishes. And they did. This is our new GO TO PLACE. I believe it's the Englewood areas best kept secret.

Helpful?
1 Thank 79fortgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make time for this one”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great local atmosphere great food. Great beer selection with Local microbrews on tap. Not one to miss while in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vtnanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Newly remodeled restaurant. Very attractive. Both clam chowder and crab bisque were delicious ! Had crab sandwich with dill sauce with fresh cut French fries. Excellent. Lots of crab meat. My husband had battered fish sandwich. Also excellent. Will return soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelbyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Codfather's Seafood & Grille also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing