We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Serenity - CLOSED

Cafe Serenity
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: modern breakfast and lunch. Specialty omelettes and sandwiches. Great lattes and espressos. French wines, pates and specials.
Gmabrills
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for something different this Sat. night while in Englewood. Having had lunch at Serenity once and purchased quiche another time at the Farmer's Market we decided to enjoy the dinner for 2.June is off season so we happened to be the only ones there with Owner Patrica as server. Delightful evening;lots of chatter and sharing; great food, wine and kir….we will definitely return for another special meal on our next visit to Englewood!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Based on so many great reviews we came for brunch on a sat. It was 130 pm and no one was their except the cook who sat on a couch reading his I phone. We felt like we were disturbing him. We had to ask for menus. He was cold and barely said a word. We had omelettes that were the strangest eggs I ever had. There was no cooking going on but I did hear a microwave. The eggs were in the form of a strange gelatinous square that he microwaved with our choice of toppings. As we ate the cook/server sat on the couch texting and could care less about us. Definitely will not return. I have no idea how this place ever received good reviews. I give one star for the latte.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Love going here for coffee and a snack. It is small and homey. I had quiche and it was delicious. I have also brought food home for dinner. Delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Went for breakfast and it is not a "get em in get em fed get em out" establishment. If you want a leisurely breakfast cooked to order then try this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 395Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

So glad that Cafe Serentity, a delightful bistro in Englewood FL, was recommended to us. The proprietors Thierry and Patricia could not have been more welcoming and the food could not have been better! Our dinner started off with complimentary tapenade appetizers and kir. The ensuing four course dinner with wine, a meal which would have been far more expensive elsewhere, was excellent. We cannot wait to tell our friends and family about our new find! We WILL be return patrons!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Serenity also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing