We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderfully Personal--Not Commercial

First of all I want people to know this is not a large commercial operation where a smiling... read more

Reviewed December 3, 2018
Polarbrr
,
Juneau, Alaska
Excellent wine & high quality gifts

The Catanias are very welcoming and their wine is the best! They also have supplies for those... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2018
K J
Read all 204 reviews
  
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
180
15
2
0
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
15
2
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage wine tasting olive oil great wine wine making bread the owner an industrial park rainy day cash or check well worth the visit best kept secret for sale can't wait to go back great afternoon john oils
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 204 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visited the winery for the second time this Thursday. I brought in new friends to share it with and my experience was as great as the first time. We sampled sauvignon blanc, cabernet sauvignon, and one other red. John is extremely passionate about what he does, very knowledgeable, and takes time to sit down and talk with you and make sure that you have a wonderful time. If you are in or near Englewood this experience will definitely brighten your day and is not something you want to miss out on.

Date of experience: June 2013
3  Thank Britt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In planning for last week's vacation in lovely Englewood, Hubby & I learned on TripAdvisor of wine tasting opportunities at Catania's Winery. Having attended tastings at wineries before, we knew that the interaction with the wine presenter is such a big part of the experience. In speaking with the owner, John Catania, we quickly realized we were in for a quality, enjoyable time! John presented his Sauvignon Blanc & two Cabernet's with easy-to-understand explanations of what to expect from each. We also tasted the olive oils, which John gave background about as well. It was readily apparent the John knows his stuff; he told us about being a Master Vintner, and a little bit of his history in the winemaking arena, and about how he came to create this comfortable winery in Englewood. John is a gracious host, and gave us many ideas for dining & pasttimes in the area. We bought several wines and an olive oil for a gift for our house host. A very nice experience - should not be missed!

Date of experience: May 2013
4  Thank bethtravelsfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found a wonderful winery in Englewood that does wine and olive oil tasting. John sat with us in the wine making room & explained how he makes the different wines & the differences between them. Also the differences between the cold & warm wines. We tasted some wonderful oils also. It was definitely a wonderful night and an evening to remember (in a very good way). We purchased a couple of bottles of wine and olive oils. Very happy we went and most definitely will go back with friends.

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank randmbartoe7914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

An awesome night with a group of 8 friends to celebrate a bday. The Catania Winery made you feel like you were in their home with a beautiful spread of fruit, cheese and crackers, & homemade sausage rolls and last but not least their wine and more wine.

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank annamaria1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Fun place to visit and sample John's wines. He is so knowledgeable and informative. We took my sister who was visiting from Connecticut and hopefully the wine and olive oil she bought made it back safely on the plane! We now take all our visitors to Catania's.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank mtirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews