We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Extra Fine Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catania's Winery

Catania's Winery
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We will be closed from friday 7/15/2016 to 7/26/2016 and will re open on wed 7/27/2016 Thank you John & Margherita
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Extra Fine Hosts”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

John & Marguerite hosted special gathering for a small group of friends. The food and wine was excellent but what made the evening so special were our hosts, The Catania's.

They are two delightful and gracious hosts. John gave instructions on the art of wine and olive oil making including tastings of his special olive oil.

The retail space is small but supplied with just about any wine related treats & supplies one would want. The dining area is in the winery, next to the barrels, and used only for special parties.

A little hard to find but don't be put off by the industrial setting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    11
    2
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our visit to Catania's”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We will come back to see John on our next visit. I have been visting the Englewood are for 30+ years. I have never thought such a wonderful place would be hidden in the industrial part of town. He took the time to show us ,teach us & share with us all about the way he makes his wine & olive oil.He made us feel like family. We ended up shipping close to a case of wine & olive oil back home. Had a wonderful time!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60662
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Catania's is an Englewood gem”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A little off the beaten path, this winery is well worth the time to find it. They serve quality whites and reds from time tested recipes. John Catania and his wife make it all the more enjoyable by sharing their quaint space and showing unforgettable hospitality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juddmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reveler's Rejoice!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a previous, most enjoyable visit to Catania's, we knew that sharing the experience with our friends was a priority. John and Marguerite prepared a veritable Sicilian feast for twelve! We spent over two hours around the tables toasting, laughing, and absorbing John's infinite knowledge of wine and olive oils. Accompanying the delicious wines, the sausages,cheese and olives imported for our enjoyment,met every expectation! You must make this number one on your itineraries.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBERLY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally awesome wine and a great environment to visit and sample the offerings.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for a visit while takining time to explore the sights of Englewood. The owner was a great help and was willing to share his vast eealth of knowledge. A definite must see and we will be back next time we're in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catania's Winery also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Catania's Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing