We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding (Mikey liked it!), but make a reservation...”

Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Healthy Gourmet Dining
White Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Outstanding (Mikey liked it!), but make a reservation...”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

after having gone once, we went back again, only to find we couldn't get a decent table without a reservation. Now we know. And so do you.

So we passed by and wondered at the crowd and the trailer? Yes, they cook in a trailer, and a better bit of nirvana I dare you to find in the area. You'd pay three times the price in NYC AND have to pay for parking!

All of our dishes were excellent, but the ahi tuna was out of this world. Mikey liked every one of his choices, and trust me, Mikey is fussy and usually pooh-pooh's gourmet food, especially with a limited menu.

The service was also very good, and the drinks - mojito and sangria - were an A+. The music was on the meh side, a sort of cover of Green Day, but such a small quibble.

Remember, you have to go here if you're in the area, but...............make a reservation. You won't be sorry.

Trust me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dee dee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    188
    45
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Rockport, Maine, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Afternoon Delight”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The four of us enjoyed sitting at a waterside table under a shady umbrella. Our waitress, Courtney was pleasant and welcoming. We had Margaritas, a Mohito and Piña Colada, all delicious. The most wonderful surprise was the Cane Sugar Seared Ahi Tuna appetizer that we all agreed was exceptionally flavorful and tender, with ginger and creamy wasabi, reminding us of Pacific Rim flavors, and wanting more! Two of us had Bistro Wraps, fresh and full, and two of us had Snake River Farms American Kobe Burger which also were exceptionally tasty. Looking forward to returning after dark to enjoy their fire pit seating and festive lights.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste of Heaven in Paradise”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have exactly 2 restaurants that I classify as my Happy Place. Up until this evening there was only 1. A casual, but will appointed and comfortable patio awaits looking out over the water. John, our waiter, was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. My Choice was the Cane Sugar and Spiced Seared Tuna served on a bed of the most incredible blend of flavours I've every encounter in a salad. The combination of smooth, sweet, creamy, tart and spicy was mouth watering. I of course tasted my Husband's Beef and the cut was melt in your mouth tender, perfectly cooked to his specification and the sauce was an extraordinary blend of spicy and smooth. The Live (but not too loud, we were still able to carry on a conversation) Music preformed by "Double Shot" just topped off the evening. Sit back, Relax and Enjoy this Rare Jem. We will return again and again as we hope to work our way through the Menu. I must finish by mentioning that it is attached to my Favourite "Beach Boutique" so plan on spending some time shopping as well. Excellent Food and.... Shopping!!!!! What more could you want.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Different, but fantastic”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a week of going back to all our old favourites and finding them all a bit tired and same old, we chose this new restaurant.....and LOVED it.

Great welcome at reception, great ambience, excellent (limited) different menu and the quality of the food was top notch. Plus the service was excellent, perfect level of attention

Best meal of the week by miles. And not expensive. And the live entertainment was.....entertaining

Overall, truly excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_N1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“FRESH FOOD”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A tiny little place you could miss if you blinked, glad we didn't. Saturday afternoon 10/26/13.As of this day there is only 1 menu for lunch and dinner. Starting next week there will be 2 separate menus. We ordered the Kobe burger topped with smoked blue cheese, served with sour cream and chive fingerling potato salad and citrus chipotle BBQ sauce. Cooked to perfection and extremely flavorful. Potato salad was light and delicious. Sofrito chicken, grilled chicken breast marinated with ancho chili, onion cilantro, and lime. Served with black bean puree and carrot pineapple salad, roasted poblano aioli, great combination and wonderful. The food was over the top and like no other place we have been in the area. Super fresh tasting ingredients. Wonderful atmosphere, service was excellent, oh and they have cocktails and ice cold beer. Lunch for two, ice tea, 1 Stella beer, and generous tip $48.00. A hidden gem for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing