We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SWEET SPOT!”

Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Wine Bar, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront Healthy Gourmet Dining
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SWEET SPOT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is great - real nice people, from the owners to the bus boy... nice wine list with varied selection and prices, and delicious food. We had the NE clam chowder, followed by the lamb sliders and the calamari. It was nice to find a place that offers fresh, simmered calamari, instead of the standard fried fare!

The location was nice too - don't be fooled by the streetside view. The waterside dining is great, and the patio area is well designed and decorated.

They are relatively new, so the menu is a little limited - but it is clear that they are motivated to give a First Class dining experience, and we are looking forward to many happy returns. Go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    180
    43
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Don't let the look from the road fool you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent, rich entrees. Good wine list. Wait staff was a little spotty. We were there after dark, so we couldn't really see too much beyond the immediate small harbor area just beyond the outdoor dining area.
From the road, you cannot see the restaurant- you only see a gift shop. But, go around to the restaurant and it is very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emptynesters1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent food - terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

WE are staying in the Englewood area for a couple of months and we were searching for a nice, waterfront restaurant to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with approx. 10 ppl. Read some decent reviews on this board so we decided to stop by for happy hour and try the food. Our party of six arrived about 3:50pm (happy hour begins at 4pm). We were seated outside at a pleasant table. We waited a few minutes for our waiter to arrive and take our drink order (beer and wine). After a 10 minute wait our drinks were delivered; however, we ordered two chardonnays and received 1 chard. and one red wine. The rest of the drinks were correct. After placing our order for appetizers we again experienced a long wait. I ordered a fondue and expected to receive a fondue pot; however, we received a soup up size of fondue which was actually quite tasty - even thought there was not enough crostini to dip all the fondue. The wrap with chicken and side salad was the best value/tasting appetizer we ordered. I must note that we consumed our appetizers without getting the round of drinks that we ordered. My husband and brother-in-law complained to the bartender/mgr that we were not served our drinks and the mgr. stated that we "came at a bad time". What does that mean? and I found that to be a poor excuse. Bottom Line - The food was good but we will never return due to the lack of service. I should state that one adjacent table of about 7 got up and walked out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kash96baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Read other reviews, so went for lunch. Excellent service, food a wine. Fresh, perfectly cooked seafood. great salads. Nice waterfront setting. We will certainly return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Killdeer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

having eaten at this bistro a number of times before the change in chefs, our latest visit was very disappointing. The New Menu tries to capture some of the style and flavours of the previous chef it falls well short the food is ok but the quality, variety and taste is a pale comparison of what we had become used to before. We also believe, given the new quality and quantity of the food, that the prices are too high. It may be that whilst you have two new chefs they do not understand the concept and depth of flavors the previouse chef created in her menues. here's hoping that things improve, if not, we will once again have to travel to Sarasota, Fort Myers or Naples to find good restaurant/bistro food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stearn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRoad1350, Owner at Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and im very sorry you may have been dissapointed. I would like to explain our menu we have now. We are not trying to replicate any flavors executed by our previous chef. As the owners of this business, the style food we would like to serve is healthy gourmet and our new chefs have been able to express there own creativity in our new menu options. We have infact ironed out some kinks from our previous menu to be able to make all audiences happy. Offering lighter fare options along with full portions to make a hungrier stomach satisfied. We now have a childrens menu, and we now give our patrons the option to have there beef options cooked to there own liking. Although we had an audience that adored our previous chef but there was also complaints that needed to be addressed moving forward. Quality of our product has actually increased as we have a larger menu and our chefs actually purchase from all local vendors including buying vegetables at our local farmers market and our fresh seafood is delivered everyother day. As for pricing, we have priced accordingly in regards to the quality of our products. Again i do apologize that your experience wasnt what you expected but we do believe that the change has happened for a reason and we are recieving fabulous feedback from others and want everyone to enjoy what we have created here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Beach Road Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing