We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice cream! Nice people!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Better Scoop

A Better Scoop
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
“Great ice cream! Nice people!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Usually we head to bresslers in Venice but we thought we would try this out!! So worth it!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kas1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    50
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our first time here and we will be back. Owners are very nice and this is a hot spot. Great ice cream!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSL9965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, unfriendly service on two different visits”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just visited this ice cream store as a family, twice in one week over our kids spring break. The ice cream was average to good. On the first visit my kids and I were caught off guard when the owner snapped at them while they tried to look through the glass at the different ice creams. He seemed stressed about potential finger prints on the glass or something. I can understand the issue of not touching things but his reaction scared my kids. I forgot about it and we returned later that week. My three year old ordered a smoothie and afterwards the owner asked him directly to stand by the register and not with my family. When another one of my kids tried to look at the gatortracks ice cream, he snapped at him in the same manner as before. My kids are very well mannered and I never write reviews like this. I talked with the owners wife about it briefly and she blamed the behavior of her husband on the "decibel level" in the place. Hopefully it won't happen again as kids tend to think of ice cream stores as inviting and fun experiences. My kids think the opposite of their experience at A Better Scoop. This has never happened to us before at any restaurant. I was not going to submit a review until this happened on 2 separate occasions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahGleba, Owner at A Better Scoop, responded to this review, January 27, 2016
Hi Matt!
I am so sorry that you experienced this at A Better Scoop in 2014. However, the business is under new ownership and we would like you to come back and give us another shot. We purchased the business shortly after your first visit. We have the same staff, the same great ice cream, and my husband and I are all about family and families coming to see us! When you're back in the area, please let me know I would love to serve you and your family!

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This small ice cream shop
Is immaculately clean, the help is always friendly, and best of all they have wonderful ice cream! There are lots of flavors, so it's hard to choose, but I haven't made a bad choice yet. The one scoop is HUGE, and prices are very reasonable. My fave place for ice cream in the Boca/Englewood area!

Helpful?
Thank Palacegypsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austintown, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Call me spoiled...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The ice cream here was just average. My hurricane (like a blizzard) was runny, the mocha ice cream was gritty, and other flavors tasty, but just ok. Granted, it was better than most store-bought ice cream, but not as good as most ice cream places I've been to. But I may be spoiled living a block from Handel's in NE Ohio...it is rated in the top ten in the world...

Helpful?
Thank Dragon797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Better Scoop also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to A Better Scoop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing