We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun to sit outside, food was really salty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flounders Restaurant and Tiki Bar

Flounders Restaurant and Tiki Bar
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flounders offers fresh seafood dishes to delight any appetite. From our salmon, to live Maine lobsters, New England classic clams and oysters, to southern Louisiana crayfish, we have it all. We bring the ocean to your table. Relax...there are no worries here. Just great food, happy, friendly people, great service and plenty of drink selections. Our goal is to give you an experience that will keep you coming back time and time again. We have something for everyone, whether it's quiet inside dining or cobblestone street dining where you can hear the music and still have great conversation. Tiki dining is in the front of the band and if the weather is cool we can close the weather curtains for your comfort and still have the feeling of outside dining. Or why not dine at a picnic table on our beach and take your shoes off? ​ Our beach has many acitvities to entertain you and the kids - play cornhole or hooker games, fish off the dock or just lounge with a cold cocktail in one of our Adirondack Beach Chairs. At night we will have a warm fire in our fire pit so you can relax and enjoy the wonderful Florida Gulf Coast.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“fun to sit outside, food was really salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would agree with other reviewers that the location, atmosphere at Flounders is great, but the food was just so-so. We got our flounder blackened, which was really salty!! If I went again, I'd just get it grilled.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    308
    134
    55
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We walked over to Flounders after spending the day at Englewood Beach. From the outside the restaurant looks like your typical tourist trap. Typical food and drink place at the beach. flounders isnt! We were pleasantly surprised with the whole dining experience. The food was fresh, drinks were tasty and neat. The place was clean and offers indoor/outdoor dining.
Service was fast and friendly. Other diners were having a good time as well

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcpennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, food was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Flounders is set in a nice location next to Lemon Bay. It served fairly basic pub food, I had a burger which was OK but not amazing. The waitress was friendly but gave us our bill before we had even finished our main courses so there was no opportunity to order dessert. Overall it was fine but I wouldn't rush back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More than just a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Manasota Key certainly is not as developed and popular as places like Siesta Key, so not surprisingly, the selection of restaurants is limited. Escaping the clouds and cool temperatures of Ohio, all we wanted on our first day in Englewood was to relax, have a decent meal, and BE OUTSIDE! Flounders has a large area for outdoor dining, and ended up fitting the bill perfectly. Most of the other restaurants we visited - from Clearwater to Sarasota to south of Englewood, were really busy because of spring break, and it seemed a little surprising that our party of 4 adults and 4 teens were seated so quickly. At first, that worried me, as I wondered how bad the food could be, but soon my fears were gone, as the food was pretty good. In fact, the restaurant was good and "fun" enough that we ended up returning there on our last day in Florida.

There was ALOT going on at Founders. We were seated outside, where a live band played for a couple of hours, entertaining us and other patrons. Quite a few of the patrons were dancing to the music. There were a variety of outdoor "games and activities" which amused out teens and many others who were there at the same time, such as the Bimini ring toss. The inside bar was so open that it seems as though we were outside when we had an after-dinner drink before leaving. There was ample indoor seating as well, and we chose to eat our second meal inside (due to the less than ideal weather).

I have very high expectations of restaurants, so an "average" rating from me isn't bad. The food was all somewhat better than expected. Nobody in our party really had a "bad" meal. On the other hand, the preparations were not "spectacular" as I would expect of a very "high end" restaurant. The service was, likewise, pretty average - - not slow, necessarily, but the wait staff was not there checking on us at a moment's notice. The ambiance was most certainly "beach" or "island" and since that's what we were after, it was perfect.

Since it was spring break - - presumably among their busiest weeks - I assume that it's usually pretty easy to get into Flounders. I think it is a good choice for decent food, an island atmosphere, and plenty of entertainment. It really is more than just a restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DStepnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great Friday night dinner for twelve. Kids tried their first raw oysters. Fish sandwiches and cold beer for all (except the kids of course). Beach dining with cornhole bean bag toss thrown in for entertainment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flounders Restaurant and Tiki Bar also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flounders Restaurant and Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing