We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and drinks”

SandBar Tiki & Grille
Ranked #10 of 110 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome food and drinks”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We walked over to Flounders after spending the day at Englewood Beach. From the outside the restaurant looks like your typical tourist trap. Typical food and drink place at the beach. flounders isnt! We were pleasantly surprised with the whole dining experience. The food was fresh, drinks were tasty and neat. The place was clean and offers indoor/outdoor dining.
Service was fast and friendly. Other diners were having a good time as well

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcpennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    335
    149
    61
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, food was OK”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Flounders is set in a nice location next to Lemon Bay. It served fairly basic pub food, I had a burger which was OK but not amazing. The waitress was friendly but gave us our bill before we had even finished our main courses so there was no opportunity to order dessert. Overall it was fine but I wouldn't rush back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CustomerK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“More than just a restaurant”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Manasota Key certainly is not as developed and popular as places like Siesta Key, so not surprisingly, the selection of restaurants is limited. Escaping the clouds and cool temperatures of Ohio, all we wanted on our first day in Englewood was to relax, have a decent meal, and BE OUTSIDE! Flounders has a large area for outdoor dining, and ended up fitting the bill perfectly. Most of the other restaurants we visited - from Clearwater to Sarasota to south of Englewood, were really busy because of spring break, and it seemed a little surprising that our party of 4 adults and 4 teens were seated so quickly. At first, that worried me, as I wondered how bad the food could be, but soon my fears were gone, as the food was pretty good. In fact, the restaurant was good and "fun" enough that we ended up returning there on our last day in Florida.

There was ALOT going on at Founders. We were seated outside, where a live band played for a couple of hours, entertaining us and other patrons. Quite a few of the patrons were dancing to the music. There were a variety of outdoor "games and activities" which amused out teens and many others who were there at the same time, such as the Bimini ring toss. The inside bar was so open that it seems as though we were outside when we had an after-dinner drink before leaving. There was ample indoor seating as well, and we chose to eat our second meal inside (due to the less than ideal weather).

I have very high expectations of restaurants, so an "average" rating from me isn't bad. The food was all somewhat better than expected. Nobody in our party really had a "bad" meal. On the other hand, the preparations were not "spectacular" as I would expect of a very "high end" restaurant. The service was, likewise, pretty average - - not slow, necessarily, but the wait staff was not there checking on us at a moment's notice. The ambiance was most certainly "beach" or "island" and since that's what we were after, it was perfect.

Since it was spring break - - presumably among their busiest weeks - I assume that it's usually pretty easy to get into Flounders. I think it is a good choice for decent food, an island atmosphere, and plenty of entertainment. It really is more than just a restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DStepnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Family Dinner”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great Friday night dinner for twelve. Kids tried their first raw oysters. Fish sandwiches and cold beer for all (except the kids of course). Beach dining with cornhole bean bag toss thrown in for entertainment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterSandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Slow service but a great breakfast”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our party of 6 went twice for breakfast during our recent holiday. Think they only do breakfast Thursdays-Sundays but definately worth a visit although service could be better. Breakfast was freshly cooked and really good though. We did have an evening meal but nothing special and long wait for a table

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cardiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SandBar Tiki & Grille also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to SandBar Tiki & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing