We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”

Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We like to look for sharks teeth and, dolphin watch. There are rest rooms and a shower as you come off the beach to rinse off, they even have ash trays do you can take on the beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank birdie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    164
    34
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully Serene”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Best beach in the area I believe it's a mile walk to the pass plenty of beach to spread out and gather shells or sharks teeth or go fishing .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and clean”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

was just here this past weekend and really enjoyed myself. the beach is clean and the water was perfect!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindyrellaf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bay and beach access with excellent facilities for bathrooms. Park rangers are helpful and friendly . Worth $3.00 for the parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice State Park”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

As they all seem to be!! Agree with all the positive points below..
We were there last weekend and arrived at the pass itself (after the long " hot but enjoyable" walk along the "nature" trail, approx 1.3 miles) to find it crowded with moored up boats (bayside) - lots of people and loud music - which was a little off putting and we didnt stay at the end for too long. That said, we made our way back along the beach (very slowly, looking for sharks teeth) and saw two other people in an hour until we got back nearer to the parking area.
I get the impression that the bayside of the pass is very popular with locals at the weekend, so subsequently it gets a bit "boisterous", or at least it was last Sunday but i guess anywhere gets a bit busier at weekends.
From our experience i would suggest visiting during the week if you prefer a little less "company" and want to take a little time to enjoy the pass itself without a "soundtrack".
Interestingly, the sandbank at the pass end was much bigger than we remember when we last visited in October last year. Last year we visited a couple of times the water was right up to the tree stumps at the end of the pass, this time the stumps were a long way from the waters edge and birds were nesting on the sandbank. We are not sure if its is because of tides, time of year or as we had heard on other beaches, damage/erosion caused by big winter storms?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stump Pass Beach State Park also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stump Pass Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing