We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food for gringos”
Review of Comadres

Comadres
Ranked #33 of 108 Restaurants in Englewood
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Mexican food for gringos”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

On the plus side, the restaurant is very clean and has a cheery atmosphere with nicely spaced tables and booths. Also, in the background Linda Ronstadt songs from her Mas Canciones album were being played at a reasonable volume level. On arriving, we were taken to a booth immediately and corn chips and tasty salsa arrived soon after. The salsa could have had more tang with cilantro. Had "pretend margaritas" that had little trace of alcohol.
My wife chose a steak carbone dish while I had a combo plate of tomatilla enchilada, shredded beef chimichanga and shredded chicken taco. The dishes were edible but had no zip, no zap, no zest. You must need to specify if you want hot or hotter and there were no bottes of tabasco or hot sauces on any tables. Service was efficient but not that friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    68
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always eat at Compadres when we are in Englewood. This is a consistently good Mexican restaurant. There is nothing fancy about the decor, but the beer is cold, prices are reasonable & the food is fresh & well prepared. The chimichangas are wonderful & you can get extra hot sauce as a side. Staff is friendly, service is fast - the chips & salsa are on the table almost as soon as you sit down. Portions are a good size but not so huge that you leave feeling stuffed to the gills as in so many other places in the US.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comida mexicana auténtica”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I absolutely LOVE Compadres. Best mexican food in the area. The locals know best, and believe me, I know that I get true mexican recipes when eating at Compadres. Whether it be dining in, or take out, the high quality of the food and service never withers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah_M34223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This Mexican restaurant is a great place. The salsa that is served when you are seated is some of the best we have ever had. My husband had a burrito and I had a taco and tostado and both were great. The staff is very attentive. Our food always arrives quickly. We recommend this highly.

Helpful?
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican Food for Hearty Appetites”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

While it was very, very tempting to fill up on the excellent home-made chips and salsa, I'm glad I saved room for the main course. The enchiladas were excellent and came with a large helping of rice and beans. Go hungry! The atmosphere is fun and was very busy when we visited. The service is friendly and quick and the margaritas are home-made too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACMPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comadres also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Comadres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing