We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect in every way”

Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Englewood Lighthouse Resort
wpb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I just loved Englewood Lighthouse Resort. The cottages were clean and had everything that anyone could ever need. It was very quiet and it was just beautiful sitting on the dock .
It felt as if you were on a secluded island, yet just mins away is every store and restaurant you can ask for.
I am hoping to make this a yearly trip. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzwpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Although I am reluctant to share this "Hidden Gem" in Englewood, Florida.... it is the right thing to do. This is actually my 4th visit here in the past 2 months. Each time I return, it is like "coming home". This is a small group of "old Florida" cottages with all the amenities you could want. Each cottage has its own kitchen with full sized applainces and a regular sized kitchen table., a seperate bedroom, seperate bathroom, a den and most have a screened porch with nice patio furniture. The grounds are scattered with patio table and chair groupings, BBQ's, and lots of trees with spanish moss providing good shade. Among other reasons, I chose this place because it has a nice long dock with two captains chairs and a place to filet your freshly caught fish. I am here with a fisherman, and Larry and Lisa have nice fishing poles to borrow. The catfish are hungry and there seemed to be a fish on the line every few minutes.
We have enjoyed sitting on the dock with a bottle of wine, and fishing poles in the water under the moonlight. This resort is all about relaxing and spending some quiet time.
Do not expect elaborate surroundings or fancy bathrobes and room service. This is not a chain or cookie cutter experience: and that is why I love it. Lisa and Larry treat you like family, but are only around when you need them. The value is great, and the location is very good with a short drive to Englewood beach and the restaurants there. I will continue to visit, so leave me one cottage to enjoy, and we can all meet there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planandcramtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

On my 2nd day, still like it! Pool is being refurbished; working on internet to all cottages. Owners great! Central to stores, restaurants, short drive to beach, dock on premises, small beach area (wear shoes!). They have amenties for water/fishing. Very quiet, kitchen well furnished, have grills for all but 1 unit. Units are not large but more like mini houses, love that! Quaint, cute gets my vote every time! Also have terrific pictures/decorations. Definitely will return. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Learical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

When we arrived there was no-one around (key was left under door mat which was nice), come to find out the owners werent even in the state. However as the evening progressed, there was no light for the pool for the kids to swim, there was no dock light for us to fish, there was no "beach" as it was over grown with grass. My kids were very disappointed that we would be staying here for 5 days. Later that evening, getting ready for bed, I took out a sheet for the pull out couch only to find a "fresh chocolate stain" on the sheet, GROSS. Next my inlaws had sand, dirt and a human hair on their supposedly "clean bedroom sheets". Needless to say, that night I got on the phone to find another place for us to stay, which we did. We left the next day! Think twice about staying here.
PS-the

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfunwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLELB, Owner at Englewood Lighthouse Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
At Englewood Lighthouse Resort, we really try hard to please everyone. In all fairness, we would like our future guests to know that because this party booked several units, we waived all the extra person charges and gave them free early check-in. Also, when there was a problem with a sofa-bed in one of the cottages, we offered them free usage of another cottage for their entire stay. At their rate of $80 per night for bayfront cottages with full kitchens and free dockage, we still believe that is a real good value. In our usual way of accommodating our guests, we let them check-out after one day, even though we have a two-night minimum. We even honored their multi-day, multi-cottage rate for the one night. We continue to strive to make all of our guests happy, as best we can.
Point by point, we would be happy to address their concerns:
1. We have a staff that runs the resort in our absence. After all, we need vacations too! We have a cleaning staff that also does the check-ins and companies to do the grass and pool.
2. Our pool closes around dusk. This is for the safety of our guests and prevents louder, late-night parties. We like to provide quiet-time for our guests who like to turn in early.
3. We have a light and receptacle on our dock for our guests to use. When we returned after these guests left, the light was on. We’re not sure of why it was off during their stay. The light has a switch that can be turned off for those guests who want to enjoy our incredible night sky.
4. Our sandy beach on Lemon Bay has natural sea-grass and mangroves. These are home to our sand crabs, minnows, and even sea-horses! For people who know the area, there are very few bathers in Lemon Bay. Our beach is great for kayaking though!
5. Of course, our linens are washed and prepared for our guests’ arrivals. When there was a complaint about the linens, we had a fresh set delivered to their cottage within the hour.
We take pride in our customer ratings and would invite potential guests to read all of our reviews. It is obvious that we try hard to make all of our guests have an enjoyable experience. You’re not just staying at our resort, you’re staying at our home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsport, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I was travelling alone and found this family owned and operated resort to be very nice. I originally was planning to only stay a few days but decided to stay for the whole week. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The pool overlooked Lemon Bay, the sunsets were wonderful. The owners were always available and willing to provide anything that might be needed. I especially enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookies that were delivered to my door one evening by a family member. I would definately stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who likes a warm, homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Cabins have everything you need and were neat and clean. Loved watching the manatees from the dock! Maybe we can stay longer next year. Larry was always puttering around the grounds and most accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downeasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had such a wonderful time at Lighthouse Resort we are returning again in November. The Delaney family goes out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in their cottages. The location is close to beaches, shopping, you can fish from their dock and the sunsets are beautiful.......Susan & John, Collingwood, Ont

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandsue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.6 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#5 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
12.3 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Englewood Bay Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Lighthouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Lighthouse Resort

Property: Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Address: 784 S McCall Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-3766
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Englewood Lighthouse Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint, six-unit resort on Lemon Bay in Englewood, Florida. All of our one-bedroom cottages have full kitchens, and are fully stocked with linens, and kitchenware. Our guests are welcome to relax or fish from our dock out in the bay. One of our new additions is our underwater fishlight to see all the night-time activity in Lemon Bay. We also have a seasonally-heated pool right on the bay. A bayside patio with grilling facilities is a great spot to experience our sunsets. A second patio with a grill is available in the circular common area. Free WIFI and coin operated laundry are available onsite. For our guests between August 6 through December 15, as well as January 10 through May 20, we have a regulation-sized shuffleboard court, free rentals of bikes, tennis rackets, and fishing rods, as well as a guest clubhouse with a great view of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Englewood Lighthouse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing