We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey, comfortable and right on Lemon Bay”

Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Searsport, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homey, comfortable and right on Lemon Bay”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I was travelling alone and found this family owned and operated resort to be very nice. I originally was planning to only stay a few days but decided to stay for the whole week. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The pool overlooked Lemon Bay, the sunsets were wonderful. The owners were always available and willing to provide anything that might be needed. I especially enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookies that were delivered to my door one evening by a family member. I would definately stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who likes a warm, homey atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Cabins have everything you need and were neat and clean. Loved watching the manatees from the dock! Maybe we can stay longer next year. Larry was always puttering around the grounds and most accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downeasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had such a wonderful time at Lighthouse Resort we are returning again in November. The Delaney family goes out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in their cottages. The location is close to beaches, shopping, you can fish from their dock and the sunsets are beautiful.......Susan & John, Collingwood, Ont

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandsue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2010

BUT, Englewood Lighthouse Resort is the next best thing. The owners, Larry and Lisa are most friendly and accommadating, the cabins are quaint, clean, well equipped and most reasonably priced. They are conveniently located to beaches, restaurants, and downtown. The only thing we didn't like was leaving. I'm sure we will return and we will always recommend them to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed at the Englewood Lighthouse Resort for a week in late March. The stay was very nice. The room was nicely equiped, limited closet space in bedroom. There is a club house for all to use, a pool, and laundry facilities.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigharcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed in cabin #6, which was the smallest one, for a weekend getaway. The town was like any typical coastal Florida town. The folks running the place are real nice. There was a minor mix-up in check-in times when we arrived and Larry (the owner) was not quite finished preparing the room, but we were only gonna be there for 5 minutes anyway to check in and dump our stuff off and try to make a Jonathan Coulton concert in St. Pete... he got us checked in in record time, we made it, and all was well. The room was just as described and would have been fine for a more extended stay, and talking to a couple other folks staying there made it clear it's a popular place for snowbirds staying for a couple weeks, maybe more. The room is fully equipped w/ a full fridge, dishes, stove, nuker, TV, etc. and it was quite clean and well-maintained. Though we were not far from the main road, it was a lot quieter than many places I've stayed at over the years. There was a little clubhouse with some games and exercise stuff as well as a nice screened porch facing the waterway. When we left, we found they had left us a nice little "goody bag" of candy and cookies to thank us for staying. A class act, and we didn't regret supporting a small, nice, family business!

The only complaints about the stay were minor... the twin bed seemed tiny (mostly because we're used to a king-size bed at home!) and the hot water heater was too small for us both to have consecutive warm showers (but this might not be an issue in one of the other cottages). They don't provide daily room service like the "chain" hotels but in our 2 days it was a non-issue. Despite the shortage of hot water, we'd certainly be happy to go back and strongly suspect we will do so at some point, and have already recommended it to close friends for a weekend anniversary getaway. They have a nice dock out back that's right on the Intra-Coastal Waterway (Lemon Bay), and it's easy to get to the beach and parks. I think their high season just started so don't wait too long if you wanna make reservations!

About the area... we live on the other coast of Florida, the town's a fairly typical Gulf-coast town. Probably about a mile to the south/east down the main drag thru town (SR 76) was an Italian place called Mama's. My wife and I split a most excellent Stromboli (and were still full!!) and it was VERY reasonable in price. Mmmm mmmm good! On the other
hand, the Dunkin' Donuts a little bit down the road (near Wally World) didn't have glazed donuts... at noontime!!! Nor did they have any apparent plans to make any more in the next 9 hours they were to be open. The Walmart had one of the highest stupid-and-senile-old-farts-to-square-foot ratio I've ever seen. If you need a map of the region, you can't find a good one locally in any store, so call the Chamber of Commerce beforehand or better yet, print your own from Google maps or the like!

If you're looking for stuff to do locally, we went to Solomon's Castle in Ona (AWESOME!!!!) on the way over, then drove around on Gasparilla Island and toured the lighthouse museum (nice, but you don't get to see the actual light up-close), Stump Pass State Park (nice nature walk and awesome shelling near the pass... be prepared to walk on a beautiful trail, it's about 2.5 miles total, thru sand), and Myakka River State Park (VERY worth a half-day at least!) Plus you can just drive around the area, we didn't even touch Sarasota or the Naples area on our trip.

All in all, we definitely recommend ELR and hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlurgyZork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We just got back from Englewood, Florida and if you are looking for a cute place to stay, please go to Englewood Lighthouse Resort. The Delaney Family are extremely friendly and the little cottage we stayed in had everything one would need to make their visit pleasant. We will stay there again as we are house hunting in the area. A special thank you to Larry for all is encourgement and their kids for the "Travel Goodie Bag". See you soon.
The Jacobson's
P.S. It is snowing in Minneapolis now so enjoy the warm weather until we return again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisCookiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englewood
0.6 mi away
Sun Life Beach Hotel
Sun Life Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Englewood
95 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
144 reviews
12.3 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sun Coast Inn
Sun Coast Inn
#4 of 10 in Englewood
100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pearl Beach Inn
Pearl Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Englewood
434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Weston's WannaB Inn
Weston's WannaB Inn
#2 of 13 in Englewood
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Englewood Lighthouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englewood Lighthouse Resort

Property: Englewood Lighthouse Resort
Address: 784 S McCall Rd, Englewood, FL 34223-3766
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Englewood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Englewood Lighthouse Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quaint, six-unit resort on Lemon Bay in Englewood, Florida. All of our one-bedroom cottages have full kitchens, and are fully stocked with linens, and kitchenware. Our guests are welcome to relax or fish from our dock out in the bay. One of our new additions is our underwater fishlight to see all the night-time activity in Lemon Bay. We also have a seasonally-heated pool right on the bay. A bayside patio with grilling facilities is a great spot to experience our sunsets. A second patio with a grill is available in the circular common area. Free WIFI and coin operated laundry are available onsite. For our guests between August 6 through December 15, as well as January 10 through May 20, we have a regulation-sized shuffleboard court, free rentals of bikes, tennis rackets, and fishing rods, as well as a guest clubhouse with a great view of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Englewood Lighthouse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing