We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Average experience ”
Review of Gulf View Grill

Gulf View Grill
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: QOverlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico offering spectacular sunsets and great food. Voted best of the best year after year.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, Average experience ”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The place had very nice interior design and the view was GREAT. The food and drinks were good; however, I felt as though it was a bit over priced. The service was very poor, when it wasn't even that busy. I loved the bar down under. Very friendly bartender and great and fast drinks!

Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    307
    135
    65
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some good and some so-so”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I have lived in this area for many years, but had never dined at Gulf View Grill. We recently dined on a Sat. night and had mixed reactions. The food was good--not great--but good. The bread was dry and flavorless. Service was good . The view was nice. My husband is immune-suppressed right now and is able to dine out but cannot have any fresh food--only cooked. This was the first restaurant that we have eaten at in 6 months that would not let him substitute a vegetable for a salad. I even talked to the manager when she happened to walk by and she said the owners would not allow any substitutions. A restaurant manager should try to make things right with a customer within reason and this is certainly within reason. We didn't ask for anything out of the ordinary. I thought it was ludicrous. For this reason, I would not return and would certainly not recommend this restaurant to any one else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Longtime Favorite”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

It has been a while since our last visit to Gulfview Grill, we prefer the slower season. Our waitress, Kim did a wonderful job serving a party of nine. All our appetizers, main courses and drinks arrived properly and on time. Our glasses always kept filled. Our meals varied and covered a good sampling of most of what the menu had to offer and everyone was satisfied. I have been dining at Gulfview for a number of years now, and would recommend it to anyone living in or visiting the area.
The location just across from the beach is terrific, and offers a superb view of the magnificent sunsets. I have not tried out the new tiki bar, but it looked inviting and worth a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank critic34293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rib-eye versus Fillet”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hungry for steak. My wife ordered the surf and turf which included a 6 oz fillet ordered medium which came well done w/ no grill flavor and 2 stuff shrimp. I ordered 10 oz rib-eye, medium, tasted prefect, both dinners included bread, salad and potato of choice. We dinned close to sun set and where lucky enough to get a great view as the sun went down.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, DE
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food....very nice view!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed this restaurant for its view and its food, but it was a bit noisy when we were there with folks at the bar upstairs (near our table) being quite loud. We were there a bit before sunset and had to lower the blinds a bit as the sun was shining directly in our faces....but once we did that, we were fine. There are lots of fun paintings adorning this place as you make your way from the parking area to the upstairs eating area, so take the time to enjoy them.....there are even some in the elevator. The service was very good and we enjoyed our food and beverages and would go back there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatMillsboro_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf View Grill also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf View Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing