We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ!”

Hickory Hollow Barbeque
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Ellenton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After reading some of the reviews of this place...we decided to try it out. I'm glad we did. The baby back ribs and the pulled pork was very good. They have excellent selection of sides to go with your meal along with corn fritters. There was a decent crowd there. The service was great. We tried out their desserts as well...we had the key lime pie and apple crisp. The pie was very good, however the apple crisp wasn't as good as we had hoped it would be. Overall this is a great place to stop for BBQ!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrygal063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    75
    18
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grant
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We decided to try this restaurant after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. The outside appearance is deceiving as this is a great place to eat. The place was very busy when we arrived but we were seated fairly quickly. The ribs were very good as was the pulled pork. The corn pudding was also very good. The prices are average and reasonable for the quality of the food. We will definitely return when in town again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I'm so glad we stopped here! They have excellent pulled pork. They offer two types of sauces - the North Carolina vinegar based and the traditional tomato based. I had the traditional and it was awesome! Very sweet and full of flavor. Everything else was yummy as well - the coleslaw, baked beans and the corn fritters. The atmosphere is homey and seems that it's a place where the locals frequent. Hubby had the philly steak and he said it was the best ever! He was disappointed with the au gratin potatoes but we have found it difficult to find anyplace north of Key West that does it right! This has been added to one of my favorite places to go and we'll definitely stop again when we're in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAmmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent BBQ”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

fresh veggies and superb BBQ! the restaurant is a bit eclectic, but the food quality and quantity are excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It is definitely worth the drive from Tampa.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Great food and pleasant admosphere. I like to eat under the trees on a nice day and it is for my dog to enjoy the breeze and left overs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodrigl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Hollow Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Hollow Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing