We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Schenectady, New York
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was a very good stay and the room was just right. The breakfast was very good. The night clerk was on top of her game with fanatic service. She knew where all of the good places to eat was located and the local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eloy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast along with the friendly service. Please see us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    18
    17
    21
See reviews for
39
34
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Terrible is a good word.We stayed at 5 different motels in our trip. We stayed at a rundown old motel owned and operated by an Indian couple. And it was a much better experience. our stay at Quality inn was OVERPRICED to say the least.
average cost 59.00
add k9 10.00
our price 104.00 outrageous There is no excuse for this sort of treatment for a 2nd rate motel. 2nd rate? we were given the wrong room number, shower curtain rod fell apart. and over charged for the room.
terrible seems like the appropriate word.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, Owner at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I want to start by saying that we are really sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay. We are new owners of the hotel, since January, and while we know it is far from perfect the items you mentioned are unacceptable.

We have reinforced with front desk staff to verify the room number before sending guests down. This is the first time we've experienced the issue but we want to make sure that future guests don't experience the same thing. I know first hand that it is painful to unload all your luggage and go to a room only to find out that you were given the wrong room. I'm really sorry about that.

The hotel business is a never ending maintenance game. We are working on getting better preventative maintenance programs going at the hotel and we will get there with time. Our maintenance staff has been very busy since we purchased the hotel but we should have caught the problem with the shower curtain during our room checks or during housekeeping cleaning. I'm also sorry about this but also want to thank you for bringing the issue to our attention. We had a new shower rod installed by 1pm on April 6th, the day you checked out.

As for the room rate, I've looked back on your folio and the rate was $85.90 + $10.00 pet fee + taxes. From time to time during big events our rates are raised. The hotel business is a supply and demand business when demand is very high the rooms are a little more expensive. The room you checked into was one of the only rooms we had left at 11pm when you arrived and I assure you that we were far less expensive than other hotels in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have a lot of work to do to get this property where we want it to be and we are working very hard on that. Again, I'm very sorry you were unsatisfied with our hotel.

Sincerely,

Randal
Quality Inn Elkton, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkton hotels

United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are very satisfied with our stay at the Comfort Inn in Elkton.
The staff was very helpul in getting our needs met and giving us the best rates.
The housekeepers did a great job of keeping our room clean and providing for our needs.
If presented with the option, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, Owner at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! It makes us really happy when folks enjoy their stay at our hotel. I will pass along the housekeeping compliments and really hope we see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Randal
Quality Inn Elkton, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Where to begin with my review. To begin with we were greeted by one of the most rudest front desk clerks we have ever run across. We were given a room we did not book. Walked back to front desk after looking at room. Then we learned they did not have our room available. But she did offer to refund our money and told us go somewhere else. Instead we stayed. Later that night we decided to shower only to find no towels. Also no coffee in the room. Front desk clerk almost accused us of stealing the towels. In the morning we turned on the lights and saw roaches on nite stand by bed and on the wall. One wonders how many of those roaches shared our bed with us. We had a wake up call scheduled but it never happened. We checked the phone in the morning and found no dial tone. The breakfast was about the only decent thing. Not great but not that bad. Overall we feel we paid way too much for the value of this Quality Inn. We learned in the morning that the bank had owned the hotel until a couple weeks before we checked in. Conditions were going to improve the letter said that was taped to the front desk. Too bad the conditions were not improved for us. If you like roaches crawling on your bed as you sleep, than this is the place for you. Otherwise try some where else.

Room Tip: My tip. Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RedTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, Owner at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I just want to start by saying that I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel. I'll try and address each issue you mentioned and tell you how we are working on improving.

First, the rude desk clerk that you encountered will be singled out and we will go back and review the cameras to evaluate how the desk clerk handled the situation and how we can improve. You didn't get what you paid for, so you should have been upset, and we should have been apologetic. I'm sorry that was not the case and I will work on that for future guests.

I will also look at the room you booked vs. the room you received and we can go into the computer system and determine who changed it and address that with them.

We are implementing and daily room check after the housekeeping is done. This is a system that after every room is cleaned by a housekeeper and staff member goes in behind them and ensures that everything is as it should be. If it not, they are instructed to fix it.

We were not aware of any problems with bugs in the rooms. At present the Turner Pest Control out of Jacksonville comes the first Tuesday of every month for service. We will determine what room you were in and take it off market until we have our pest control specialist out to spray that room specifically and then return to verify the issues have been resolved.

The wake up calls being missed are unacceptable...that can make or break someones day in a hurry and I'm very sorry that missed that too. We have the maintenance man going around and checking each phone to ensure that it is working properly to avoid this in the future as it sounds like your issue had to do with the phone not working in the room.

We are new owners of the property. Our first day of ownership was January 23rd. We are working as quickly as possible to make the property as good as it can be. Our staff at this property has suffered due to previous ownership (the bank) not caring for the property and giving the staff the tools that they need to make guests happy.

We will improve as a staff as well as make sure that we as the owners provide them with tools that they need.

If you have the time I would like for you to reach out to Kelly at the hotel at 904-829-3435 and we'll do our best to make this right with you. Again I'm very sorry for your unsatisfactory stay and I promise you that we are taking every penny we make and putting it right back into the property and working as hard as we can to make each and every one of our guests stays enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Randal
Quality Inn Elkton, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Meet all my needs for the night. Friendly folks, wifi, clean, with biscuits and gravy in the morning. I'd stay again. I've stayed at the exit just North, but it is pretty crowded. This is a good place to pull off and crash without much hassle.

Room Tip: Grab a first floor room if they have them available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were glad to hear we met your lodging needs with friendly service and a clean room. Hope you stop and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in October for one night and found it sufficent for us. Typical of most hotels in area with outside entrances where you can park by your room. They did not have any king rooms left. Our room needed some TLC and was at other end from the lobby for continental type breakfast. Did have Showtime which was a plus for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingSouth_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry the room type you requested was not available. During June or July of 2013 we will be adding 8 more king rooms and hope if you are in the area you stop by and try one out. Also happy to hear you enjoyed Showtime during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Quality Inn in Elkton is essentially the only hotel immediately off the SR 207 exit of I95. If you are tired of driving, keep going to the next exit as this hotel is not worth stoppping for.

While the front desk staff was friendly enough, the first thing that does strike you is a musty smell (as another traveler noted) and a heavy odor of smoke.

No luggage carts and the 2nd floor rooms do not appear to be easily accessible for the handicapped

Trash in the parking lot, pry marks on exterior doors and the occasional homeless person wandering over to the I95 ramp to pan handle didnt make us feel any easier (the doors to the rooms are outside and not inside- so the proximity to the interstate and the folks wandering the parking lot in this somewhat remote location are a legitimate safety concern.

The room was badly in need of an update. Old and dirty carpet. Didn't smell as bad as the lobby but it too had a musty and smoke smell. The bathroom was nasty. Looked like pet hair and dirt had collected in the corners of the floor. The bathroom exhaust vent (over the fan0had what appeared to be decades of filth, rust and crud all over it.

My family was so creeped out that we simply left for another hotel.

It's hard to believe that this property is a member of the Choice Hotel group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyManMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We want to start by saying that we are very sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had at our hotel. I do want to note that during your attempted stay that the hotel was in foreclosure and was being operated with limited resources. The staff, despite their best efforts, were not given the tools to succeed. Since your stay the hotel was purchased by new owners and many positive changes have taken place since.

I will say I noticed from your other reviews that you most often stay at higher end, Marriottt type hotels. Quality Inn’s generally won't be 3 plus star hotels. It’s our goal to provide a clean, friendly, affordable place for folks to stay.

The musty smell in the lobby was a result of an apartment that was in use during previous and bank ownership. That apartment no longer exists and we've had no complaints regarding a smell in the lobby.

We do not have luggage carts because most folks park in front of the doors. True, it would be difficult for someone who was handicapped to get to a second floor room and that is the reason all of our handicap accessible rooms are on the first floor.

The trash in the parking lot is unacceptable. New ownership has made keeping the parking lot clean and well lit a high priority and all trash is removed from our property every day.

I've been here for near one and half years now, but I've not seen any homeless people wandering over from the I-95 ramp as you discussed. We do however regularly see guests out for evening walk or just enjoying the weather.

New owners and our staff are using all resources available to get the property back to where it needs to be. It’s not perfect, but since your stay over 6,000 guests have stayed at our hotel and our guest satisfaction scores improve every day.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review of our property and if you are ever in the area again we would love for you to give us another chance so you can see all of the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
6.7 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
Best Western St. Augustine I-95
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
594 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#26 of 78 in St. Augustine
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
798 reviews
6.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South

Property: Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South
Address: 2625 State Road 207, I-95 St. Augustine Beach Exit 311, Elkton, FL 32033-2001 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Elkton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95 at exit 311 (St. Augustine Beach Exit). This Saint Augustine, FL and Elkton, FL motel is located minutes away from the historic city of St. Augustine and St. Augustine's beautiful beaches via SR207. Saint Augustine, the oldest city in the country, has lots of things to do and see. Some of the major attractions to see are the Castillo de San Marcos National Monument, the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum, The St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park, Flagler College, Ponce de Leon's Fountain of Youth and the Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum. Saint Augustine has lots of events, which includes ghost tours, San Sebastian Winery, the World Golf Hall of Fame IMAX Theater, Prime Outlets - St. Augustine and Adventure Landing theme park. Some of the finest restaurants and lounges are located nearby.Our hotel offers a free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh pancakes, bagels, muffins, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, yogurt and lots more. Relax in the outdoor pool.This Saint Augustine, FL hotel offers business travelers conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls, free USA Today, and an on-site business center that provides access to conveniences like copy and fax services.In addition to standard amenities, all spacious guest rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, microwaves, refrigerators, and cable television with Showtime. This is a pet-friendly hotel.For added convenience, coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample parking is available and can accommodate most cars, trucks and buses.Whether you are staying in Florida for business or pleasure, we want to make your stay at as pleasant and memorable as can be. We look forward to serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elkton
Elkton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing