We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in October for one night and found it sufficent for us. Typical of most hotels in area with outside entrances where you can park by your room. They did not have any king rooms left. Our room needed some TLC and was at other end from the lobby for continental type breakfast. Did have Showtime which was a plus for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingSouth_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry the room type you requested was not available. During June or July of 2013 we will be adding 8 more king rooms and hope if you are in the area you stop by and try one out. Also happy to hear you enjoyed Showtime during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Quality Inn in Elkton is essentially the only hotel immediately off the SR 207 exit of I95. If you are tired of driving, keep going to the next exit as this hotel is not worth stoppping for.

While the front desk staff was friendly enough, the first thing that does strike you is a musty smell (as another traveler noted) and a heavy odor of smoke.

No luggage carts and the 2nd floor rooms do not appear to be easily accessible for the handicapped

Trash in the parking lot, pry marks on exterior doors and the occasional homeless person wandering over to the I95 ramp to pan handle didnt make us feel any easier (the doors to the rooms are outside and not inside- so the proximity to the interstate and the folks wandering the parking lot in this somewhat remote location are a legitimate safety concern.

The room was badly in need of an update. Old and dirty carpet. Didn't smell as bad as the lobby but it too had a musty and smoke smell. The bathroom was nasty. Looked like pet hair and dirt had collected in the corners of the floor. The bathroom exhaust vent (over the fan0had what appeared to be decades of filth, rust and crud all over it.

My family was so creeped out that we simply left for another hotel.

It's hard to believe that this property is a member of the Choice Hotel group.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyManMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We want to start by saying that we are very sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had at our hotel. I do want to note that during your attempted stay that the hotel was in foreclosure and was being operated with limited resources. The staff, despite their best efforts, were not given the tools to succeed. Since your stay the hotel was purchased by new owners and many positive changes have taken place since.

I will say I noticed from your other reviews that you most often stay at higher end, Marriottt type hotels. Quality Inn’s generally won't be 3 plus star hotels. It’s our goal to provide a clean, friendly, affordable place for folks to stay.

The musty smell in the lobby was a result of an apartment that was in use during previous and bank ownership. That apartment no longer exists and we've had no complaints regarding a smell in the lobby.

We do not have luggage carts because most folks park in front of the doors. True, it would be difficult for someone who was handicapped to get to a second floor room and that is the reason all of our handicap accessible rooms are on the first floor.

The trash in the parking lot is unacceptable. New ownership has made keeping the parking lot clean and well lit a high priority and all trash is removed from our property every day.

I've been here for near one and half years now, but I've not seen any homeless people wandering over from the I-95 ramp as you discussed. We do however regularly see guests out for evening walk or just enjoying the weather.

New owners and our staff are using all resources available to get the property back to where it needs to be. It’s not perfect, but since your stay over 6,000 guests have stayed at our hotel and our guest satisfaction scores improve every day.

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review of our property and if you are ever in the area again we would love for you to give us another chance so you can see all of the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I travel 3 out of 7 days a week. This was a nice surprise. The staff was so friendly and went out of there way to make sure I had what I need. I will be back on my next trip to this area. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for the review. Glad we were able to satisfy your lodging needs and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Worst hotel ever! When we walked in the door we were greeted by a musty dank smell. Because of the smell we decided to inspect the beds. Bed number one had a large amount of hair and what appeared to be a wet stain in the middle of the bed, bed number two also had hair and what appeared to be a blood stain on the sheet. The bathroom was filthy and the toilet had not been flushed. We brought this to the attention of management and we requested another room. Room number two had the same issues as well as the air conditioning not working. Again, this was brought to the attention of hotel management and we were informed they were booked but we were offered a smoking room and with a complimentary can of air freshener (I am not joking they were serious about the air freshener). We ended up taking a refund and going elsewhere for lodging that night. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your terrible experience here. The conditions you mention are unacceptable. The property was being run by a bank with limited operational resources at the time. Hopefully if you are in the area and want to give us another try you will find the conditions improved. Again we apologize for your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

walked in to some cockroaches and other bugs, further inspected the bed and it resembles bed bugs .. however I didn't see any bed bugs at te time , walls were a mess cob webs everywhere cups left behind the bed, cigarette burns in sheets and bed ... horrible experience we won't even sleep in the beds my co worker slept in the bathtub

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macleoddesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Hello, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We do use Turner Pest Control out of Jacksonville and they come out monthly. That is not to say a it is not possible to see a stray bug now then. The housekeeping issues you mentioned are not acceptable and we are working hard to improve upon them. Once again we are very sorry about the incidents during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Always a reliable and inexpensive place to stay. Make sure that you stop on the turnpike or other visitor center on I-95 for a coupon book. In June 2012 the rate was $42.95 for a room for two with coupon. There is also a continental breakfast on site. Limited, but sufficient to get your day going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side away from 95
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msrosenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were so tired leaving the Daytona 500, we just pulled over and "got a cheap room" for a few hours! We should have walked out! the ONLY good thing we have to say is the breakfast was good! The walls were 3 different shades of white, ivory and gray, all patch jobs, the bed springs were squeaky, and uncomfortable. The toilet ran every 5 mins all night! the room phone didnt work, the AC didnt work at all - the heat did, but smelled AWFUL and we didnt need it! if you are desperate, check in, close your eyes and try to get some sleep, other than that - try to make it to ANYOTHER exit and find a hotel... Quality Inn? NO! Convenience INN - sure.....

Room Tip: go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-Buc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly G, General Manager at Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Hello, I am very sorry to hear about the problems you experienced while staying here. This hotel was being managed by a bank with limited resources for operations during the time of your stay. We are diligently working toward improving the conditions you mentioned. Thank you for the nice comment about the breakfast and again we are sorry for the issues you encountered during you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
6.5 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#34 of 78 in St. Augustine
61 reviews
6.7 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#48 of 78 in St. Augustine
468 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#64 of 78 in St. Augustine
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
719 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
#59 of 78 in St. Augustine
44 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn St. Augustine
Sleep Inn St. Augustine
#42 of 78 in St. Augustine
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South

Address: 2625 State Road 207, I-95 St. Augustine Beach Exit 311, Elkton, FL 32033-2001 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Elkton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Price Range: $60 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95 at exit 311 (St. Augustine Beach Exit). This Saint Augustine, FL and Elkton, FL motel is located minutes away from the historic city of St. Augustine and St. Augustine's beautiful beaches via SR207. Saint Augustine, the oldest city in the country, has lots of things to do and see. Some of the major attractions to see are the Castillo de San Marcos National Monument, the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum, The St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park, Flagler College, Ponce de Leon's Fountain of Youth and the Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum. Saint Augustine has lots of events, which includes ghost tours, San Sebastian Winery, the World Golf Hall of Fame IMAX Theater, Prime Outlets - St. Augustine and Adventure Landing theme park. Some of the finest restaurants and lounges are located nearby.Our hotel offers a free Hot Deluxe Breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh pancakes, bagels, muffins, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, yogurt and lots more. Relax in the outdoor pool.This Saint Augustine, FL hotel offers business travelers conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls, free USA Today, and an on-site business center that provides access to conveniences like copy and fax services.In addition to standard amenities, all spacious guest rooms have coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, microwaves, refrigerators, and cable television with Showtime. This is a pet-friendly hotel.For added convenience, coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample parking is available and can accommodate most cars, trucks and buses.Whether you are staying in Florida for business or pleasure, we want to make your stay at as pleasant and memorable as can be. We look forward to serving you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Elkton - St. Augustine South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elkton
Elkton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing