We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So...”
Review of The Beach Pit on the Bay - CLOSED

The Beach Pit on the Bay
Restaurant details
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So So...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Brunswick stew was burnt... service was nice, but it the value isn't really great. I probably won't return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kriddledum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice find but not recommended on weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Grouper sandwiches were excellent. Mullet meal was also very good. Fried shrimp very good. Oysters were good but you should ask if they are local. Great service during the week but not good on weekends. I would suggest late lunch/early dinner during the week. Not as dog friendly as other local spots.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Blackened Shrimp Lunch Basket”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Overall score: I would like to give a 3.5. I decided to give a 3 with this notice.

We stopped here to eat on the way home from Apalachicola. It was good, clean.

They have indoor and outdoor seating. It was HOT and HUMID so we sat indoors. The restrooms are front and center when you enter the building; not particularly discreet...but, clean and serviceable. Also, they were running the air conditioning and the burst of cool air when you enter was a complete relief from the heat and humidity.

Most of the items on the menu seemed to be priced for dinner (above $15). They had a lunch special, which I and my partner ordered. I had the blackened shrimp and my partner had the grouper.

The blackened shrimp was kinda spicy! I love pretty spicy food, so go cautiously if you order this. It tasted great and was well cooked...not rubbery. The coleslaw was better than average, the onion rings were good, and the hushpuppies were great. The hushpuppies were flavorful with a nice crisp outside.

The partner's grouper was OK. He enjoyed the place and would/will return, but I don't think he would order the grouper again. He had fries and coleslaw; both of which he enjoyed.

There was one server for the restaurant, which was enough given the number of tables. She was attentive without being annoying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch to try something new and we were starving. Sat out of the deck which was nice. Service was fast. Steak and fried shrimp were both great!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Probably the worst atmosphere you can find in a restaurant of SGI and east point”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

They serve fake grouper what need more to be said avoid this place and and spend your money at a better local restaurant anywhere will be better than this place

Helpful?
Thank Andrew Danielle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Pit on the Bay also viewed

Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
 
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing