We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome as always”

Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Eastpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

As part of our annual trip to SGI, the ANERR is a must see. It's a great kid friendly place. We used to go back when it was an un-air conditioned couple of buildings in Apalachicola and it was always enjoyed. The new location is great. Very educational and super friendly staff.

This year we went to hear the turtle presentation. While the information was good, it would have been nice if they balanced the presentation a bit more between turtle information and how humans have a negative impact on the turtle's existence.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1gapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrabelle, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must-see on the Forgotten Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This summer we brought 2 groups of family members to see the Reserve, age ranges from 1 to senior -- everyone was fascinated.

Access to the building is good for all, parking is plentiful under shady trees. One day it rained, and the rainwater collection system was worth the visit itself.

Exhibits are professionally-done, employees are informed, and spaces are clean and wide-open with plenty of places to stop and rest. A must-see on the Forgotten Coast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skip_and_Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took a small group of children, approximately 30, to the center for a field trip. The staff were super friendly and very knowledgeable about the animals and surrounding area. The students had a great time. This is a must see!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenel, South Carolina
Level Contributor
291 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“wonderful learning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just happened to stop here as we had a bit of time on our hands before meeting someone, and what a great find. We learned all about the oystering business and the ecology of the area. Well worth the time for a stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank patspetpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Small but well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This small educational stop is great for children or anyone not acquainted with the coastal wildlife. The free admission is added bonus. The facility is new,clean,and well operated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank algataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing