We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a reason this place is rated #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant

El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Eastpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midwest
Level Contributor
352 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“There's a reason this place is rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I wish we had tried this restaurant earlier during our vacation in the area. Someone suggested we try it for breakfast and it was great. It's not a fancy place at all but they have an impressive menu with so many choices it's difficult to decide what to try. I had the the Heuvos Rancheros. Rice, refried beans, and perfectly cooked eggs atop a crunchy corn tortilla. A tasty red sauce covered the eggs (and not too spicy). They were served with 3 flour tortillas. My husband had a pancake with eggs and hash browns. The hash browns were nicely browned and crunchy, just the way he likes them. Coffee was plentiful and service was great. Prices are extremely reasonable and a much better deal than the breakfast we had at a restaurant on St. George Island! We want to go back again next time we visit the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    69
    15
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth a stop if you are in or near Eastpoint, FL.
I had the "mamma jamma" - 2 pork chops with verde salsa - think chili verde plus rice and beans. My wife had the special nachos with shrimp, beef and chicken. Both excellent.
Mexican is one of our favorite cuisines and this was the best we have had in a while.
Very reasonable.
The site is a converted something - Waffle House? So go for the food not he atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had dinner at El Jalisco while visiting St. George Island in January 2014. There were no cars in the lot when we stopped which was a little off-putting but we stopped anyway. We were glad we did. The veggie fajitas and enchilada dinner were exceptional. It's a great place where we'll dine the next time we're in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTerry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpoint, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unassuming on the outside, delicious on the inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We'd driven by El Jelisco many times, but finally stopped by with friends for a meal and discovered this small, bright yellow restaurant has some of the best Mexican food we'd ever eaten. We love Mexican food, but El Jalisco tasted super fresh, especially anything with seafood in it. I often order Carne Asada at Mexican restaurants and El Jalisco's was amazing. We just moved to the area and will now make El Jelisco a regular part of our dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dockdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Guac!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year my family has been in the area for thanksgiving, and El Jalisco is quickly becoming a tradition for us. I used to hate guacamole until I had theirs, and it's now the standard by which all other's are ranked! All of the food we've had is delicious and very authentic. I think we'll stop in one more time before we go back to MN!

Helpful?
Thank Metaljess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing