We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food”
Review of El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth a stop if you are in or near Eastpoint, FL.
I had the "mamma jamma" - 2 pork chops with verde salsa - think chili verde plus rice and beans. My wife had the special nachos with shrimp, beef and chicken. Both excellent.
Mexican is one of our favorite cuisines and this was the best we have had in a while.
Very reasonable.
The site is a converted something - Waffle House? So go for the food not he atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    76
    17
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had dinner at El Jalisco while visiting St. George Island in January 2014. There were no cars in the lot when we stopped which was a little off-putting but we stopped anyway. We were glad we did. The veggie fajitas and enchilada dinner were exceptional. It's a great place where we'll dine the next time we're in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTerry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpoint, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unassuming on the outside, delicious on the inside”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We'd driven by El Jelisco many times, but finally stopped by with friends for a meal and discovered this small, bright yellow restaurant has some of the best Mexican food we'd ever eaten. We love Mexican food, but El Jalisco tasted super fresh, especially anything with seafood in it. I often order Carne Asada at Mexican restaurants and El Jalisco's was amazing. We just moved to the area and will now make El Jelisco a regular part of our dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dockdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Guac!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year my family has been in the area for thanksgiving, and El Jalisco is quickly becoming a tradition for us. I used to hate guacamole until I had theirs, and it's now the standard by which all other's are ranked! All of the food we've had is delicious and very authentic. I think we'll stop in one more time before we go back to MN!

Helpful?
Thank Metaljess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not much food for a lot of money.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Got carry-out for dinner while staying in Eastpoint. I ordered Nachos and my husband had a burrito. The nachos consisted of 13 ( I counted) chips with cheese sauce poured on them. Cost? $9.00. Really. The burrito was average size and my husband said it was good. For a total of $19.00 we expected more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrolltonnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jalisco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
Eastpoint, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing