We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gator Den at Angler's Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunnellon
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One word: Disgusting!

The location is convenient from Rainbiw River tubing although I would NEVER stay here ever again. We rented 3 of the 2 double bed rooms. Several of the beds were box springs on top of bed springs, not kidding. One of the rooms beds was soaking wet (and not accessable) from a hole in the ceiling, dripping water. The kitchenette is a hot plate on top of a rusty microwave. The owner/ manager is convienently not available after checkin as well as at checkout. -Go figure. Seriously, do not give these people your hard earned money. Again, it's discussing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank denisebrunvand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Gator Den at Angler's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

I booked their most expensive 2 bedroom unit last summer for 3 nights. My wife cried when we got into our room because it was such a dump and filthy and we are humble low maintenance people who don't ask for much. The carpet was so dirty and soiled that it should have been torn out years ago and the MOLD was so bad in the bathroom and the closet of one of the bedrooms. There was so many bad things about this place and nothing good to say about it. We ended up leaving after 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Hansel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

its my home away from home and has been since i was a baby im almost 19 and have gone since i was little i love the people who own it now and the employees theyre all awsome and no its not the ritz its a FISHCAMPPPPPPP not a hotel jeeze
but honestly i go as much as i can its the only place ill stay i love them and this place more than words can explain and so does my dad


love you guys be up there soon <3

Room Tip: any room is good i personally like 5 cause it is tucked in but i like 6 becasue it has 2 bedrooms an...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The small town of Dunnellon is a jewel.
The Anglers Resort is a little motel right on the river. It is not the Ritz, but if you are looking for a place close to everything than Anglers is for you.
We were there to kayak the Rainbow Spings area and this hotel is perfect, and the owners are very helpful.
The Blue Gator restaurant next to the motel has great food and overlooks the Withlacootchie River.
You can rent boats or kayaks or take a river tour with the owners.
I am looking forward to returning soon

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collette90511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Angler's Resort Motel for one night as we planned to go tubing the next day on the Rainbow River. We got in late (after 9:30p) and they still had our room reserved. The place was sold out. The room we stayed in was clean, as were the beds, kitchen, and bathroom. The AC was very cold. There is a train track that runs behind the motel. A train came through around 12:30am and it was the only one the rest of the night...so no problems sleeping The bed was pretty comfy too. The restaurant next door is called the Blue Gator. There was a live band that was awesome and the food was really good. Those that gave this place a bad rap just got unlucky with their stay. We thought it was great for the price. We give it a B+.

Room Tip: We had room 18...but I bet they are all pretty good. Rooms 1-3 are away from the tracks.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaimeck79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Folks do yourself a favor.. don't ever stay here unless you are a local or there is literally no where else to go, including the backseat of your vehicle! I have read the other reviews and see that several are as old as 3 and 4 years ago and frankly the more current ones that are favorable I just dont get. But, if you want a place that is the most basic of lodging, with old unmatched furniture, filthy floors (my white socks were black inside of 5 minutes) a mildewed shower and windows and lumpy beds this is the place for you.

I will say that the folks that run the place are nice and the Blue Gator resturant had decent food and friendly staff. So with that in mind... stop in and say hello to the owners maybe get a bit to eat and a cold one but spend the night someplace else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Papilio65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at the Angler's Resort over the Memorial Day weekend and had a great time.
The staff and owners were very helpful and and nice.
The food at the Blue Gator was excellent.
We had a great time on the boat tour, it was very entertaining and informative.
Thanks again
The O'Grady family

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theogrady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnellon
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
0.1 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
73 reviews
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
13.0 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gator Den at Angler's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gator Den at Angler's Resort

Address: 12189 S Williams St, (Highway US 41), Dunnellon, FL 34432-6054
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunnellon
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gator Den Motel has 12 rooms located on the Withlacoochee River. Boat rentals, Bait Shop, Boat Tours, and full service restaurant all on premise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angler`s Hotel Dunnellon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing