We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow River

Rainbow River
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Self-Guided Kayak Trip on Rainbow River
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Florida, Usa
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Much better than paying at the park! You end where your car is parked and don't have to shuttle back in a hot old schoolbus! Plus its located next to a restaurant and BAR! :) WIll be back soon!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniebagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    60
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Snorkling Rainbow river during a weekday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We paddled the Rainbow River on a weekday, during the summer. Though there were a few people, it was not so crowded as to be a problem. We put in at KP Hole County Park and paddled down to the Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak property. While the river is very scenic the whole way, it is important to note it becomes murkier and murkier the further down stream you go. If you want to snorkel, the best section is between the Rainbow River State Park sign and KP Hole County Park. The water is crystal clear, there are a lot of fish to see and caves.
It took us approximately two hours to paddle up to the state park sign from KP Hole and snorkel back down to the county park. Remember the water is very cold and if you plan to stay in for some time, you may need a wet suit. You will also need a diver down flag. From the state park it takes about 2 1/2 hours to paddle in a lazy manner back to The Rainbow River Canoe and Kayak pull out. They provided shuttle service for my husband and myself to KP Hole.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arfilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better in a kayak than tube...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went down the Rainbow River from KP Hole Park 2 days in a row. The first, we rented a kayak and it took us a little over 2 hours. We stopped to snorkel and took a few detours along the way. It was awesome. The next day we brought our tubes and an extra raft to hold our cooler and dry stuff. It was a rough journey. We never imagined being so ready to see the exit of that dang river. The wind was against us, and it kept us from smoothly floating. Thankfully we had snorkel fins to use as paddles, and even then we were tired of paddling. Either their was a dock we were floating into, or we were barely moving. Also, about 1/2 hour into our float the Sheriff boat went by and someone who lived off the river yelled to them that they had just see a 5-6' python go by. Creepy. We did not stop and snorkel or take any detours in the tubes, and it took us over 5 hours to get to our exit. We paddled most of the way and no tubers passed us the whole way. Next time-if there is a next time-we said we would just wear our snorkel stuff and bring a noodle. I had a hurt foot this time and couldn't wear fins. The river was awesome, but I was expecting a relaxing 4 hour float, not a 5 hour workout. We saw otters and had a duck friend follow us for an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yum941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful scenery. If you need to get out of the busyness of life and relax I definitely recommend getting back to nature & visit Rainbow River

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank naynay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love the Rainbow River and Dunellon. It is a nature treat. The water color gorgeous! Eat at Swampy's and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeyLPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow River also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to Rainbow River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing