We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the river - enjoy the sights!”

Swampy's Bar & Grille
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Swampy’s Bar & Grille in Dunnellon, Florida! Looking over the beautiful Rainbow River from our restaurant deck, you can enjoy and understand the inspiration which created Swampy’s. It is the raw beauty of the Florida river swamp with a few extra conveniences added – Swampy’s great food and drink. If you arrive early enough, you may observe the family of otters that swim, eat, and live right here at Swampy’s river bank. As early afternoon arrives, you view local residents and tourists lazily floating down the river in tubes, kayaks, canoes, and a few boats. As the day ends, and the sun sets, you may again observe the family of otters venture out to enjoy their river dinner, as you enjoy yours.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
844 reviews
655 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“On the river - enjoy the sights!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Monday Lunch Bunch gathered at Swampy's this week for a very enjoyable meal overlooking the river, as tuber's and kayakers shoot the river. Service was fast, beer cold. Sandwiches and entree's very good. I had the "Swampy's Burger (Beef and piled high corned beef, and Swiss cheese.) One of our guys had the Rice Jambalaya (very good) while another had the Reuben Sandwich. Our last guy had the Fried Basa with cheese grits (I tried the grits - next on my menu!) Very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    148
    48
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, pretty good food, just okay service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The tube trip from KP Hole lasts about four hours, so when you get off the river food and drink are a priority. In that sense, Swampy's has the prime location. We came in with a party of six adults and two kids. Drinks were served promptly, orders were taken promptly. After an hour, we started wondering what was going on, finally flagged our waitress down and asked. Turns out there had been a large party that had slowed down the kitchen. Well, that happens, but the time to tell people is when it happens, not an hour after ordering food. "Hey, we've gotten backed up in the kitchen, you may want to order salads" is a nice gesture.

When the food did come, it was hot and quite good, so good marks for that.

Summary: Come for the view, enjoy the food, and hope for good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flahdagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Fl.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been to Swampy's in Dunnellon several times and don't necessarily go for the food, but more to sit in the open pavilion area and look out on the river. The food is quite good though and I recently enjoyed a shrimp "po boy" and fresh fruit side. They also often feature a "fish and shrimp" special for $9.99 with choice of a side. A platter of wings one of the server's carried past the last time I was there looked very enticing, and it's good to know that if you are not in a fish or chicken mood, you can also order a good hamburger or a reuben. The staff very attentive and help to make this restaurant by the river a fun place to eat and while a way an hour in a pleasant setting...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MizzPKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The menu offered a great variety. The food was very good. It wasnt roo overwhelmingly loud. being RIGHT on the river is really cool. The benches were very uncomfortable, and the service was pretty sub par- I had to ask twice to get the waitress to take my card so I could pay. They were pretty busy, so it's kind of understandable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinlaughly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Taste of the South! Excellent Food! First Class”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I consider myself a well travelled person. There's nothing better than a REAL (non-chain) restaurant. I'm partial to such establishments and view them favorably. However, when it comes to Swampy's, "favorable" does not come close! This excellent restaurant on the river is a great place for couples, families, and group outings. The "Surf and Turf" is better than MOST restaurants in Florida. They also serve fresh gator tail. You should try this delicacy. If that's not your speed, the menu is extensive. I consider myself an expert of Long Island Iced Tea. Believe me when I say that Swampy's serves the best Long Island Iced Tea in the south! For a real southern experience, try this establishment. You won't regret it.. They offer inside and outside seating. The river views make this a placid and exciting venue for every occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swampy's Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Swampy's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing