We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice All Around”

Swampy's Bar & Grille
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Swampy’s Bar & Grille in Dunnellon, Florida! Looking over the beautiful Rainbow River from our restaurant deck, you can enjoy and understand the inspiration which created Swampy’s. It is the raw beauty of the Florida river swamp with a few extra conveniences added – Swampy’s great food and drink. If you arrive early enough, you may observe the family of otters that swim, eat, and live right here at Swampy’s river bank. As early afternoon arrives, you view local residents and tourists lazily floating down the river in tubes, kayaks, canoes, and a few boats. As the day ends, and the sun sets, you may again observe the family of otters venture out to enjoy their river dinner, as you enjoy yours.
Dunnellon, Florida
1 review
“Nice All Around”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The enviorment is so laid back and fun. There is a nice grass area for the kids and pets and it is right on the river. Our server was informative and attentive, as well as friendly. The shrimp, sausage, and grits and gator app were very good. A little on the pricey side, but with the view, service, and quality of food, i would say it is well worth it. It is a nice, summer grill. We will be going back and I do reccomend giving it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyL664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    150
    51
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUNNELLON
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice brunch..”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

wonderful view on the rainbow river. average serving of food . tasted very good.... polite servers wasn't really able to recommend to well .. and it was alittle pricey..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TABATHA Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Swampy's”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On the rainbow river, when we rent kayaks, we eat at Swampy's afterwood. Very good food, we eat on the covered deck outside overlooking the river. A little pricey

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't advise going there”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were there two nights ago and won't be going back.. The view of the river is wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed that aspect. However, it's not enough to make me go back there. Service was very slow, nearly non-existent, in fact. The appetizer was mediocre at best and we waited a very long time for the entrees. They not only weren't worth the wait, but the kicker was...there was a dead bug plastered to the side of a piece of sausage on my plate. No waitress in sight, I simply threw the meat over the railing. The chicken and the sausage were both awful...the chicken tasted like it had been frozen for two years and the sausage so tough it could hardly be chewed. The location is excellent and it certainly has the potential to be a great place, but they need a good manager or at the very least certainly a better waitress than the one we had. If management is reading this, the one we had was short with spiked hair and pale eyes. She needs some training!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“my review”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

if you are ever in the Dunnellon area and want a great meal you have to check this place out. Location is great you get to sit right next to the rainbow river. We had a very good server full of info and recommendations. I had the lamb shank it was delicious. My wife and I will be going back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swampy's Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Swampy's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing