We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Nature Tour”

Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises
Ranked #3 of 12 Tours in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided boat tours from Stumpknockers restaurant on Hwy 200 Just outside of Ocala, Florida. Please call for directions. Do not rely on GPS etc.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a very enjoyable morning tour with Captain Mike. The day was warm, but beautiful, had a nice breeze. Captain Mike is very knowledgable and informative about the River flora and fauna. We had family here visiting from Arizona. We all enjoyed the tour, and soaked in the beauty of the River. Would highly recommend this tour with Captain Mike, for those who love the old original Florida, away from the hustle of amusement parks. Is also very close to Red's restaurant, that made for a fine Lunch, just down the road from Captain Mike's.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank NancyD798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMike T, Owner at Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed the tour,it was a wonderful day on the water. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 225 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I sooo love Captain Mike & his tours. Informative and fun. Full of wildlife and nature. He really knows his stuff and brings an intimate view of a river he has lived on for years. I always bring out of town visitors and they love this fun adventure only a short drive from Ocala!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMike T, Owner at Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

karen, Thank you so much for the review. It is always nice to have you return for so many trips. Sorry you could not make it for the tour this week. I do have an opening if anything changes. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Capt Mike was very punctual and we launched on time. We had two children under the age of 5 and Capt. Mike was very accommodating pointing out wildlife to the both of them. He was very safe and has obvious respect for the natural habitat of the river (unlike the air boat operators.) The tour was laid back and the Capt. announced out interesting facts as they came into view. We saw two gators, one with a nest, and several turtles along the way. We originally wanted to do a two hour tour and Capt. Mike smartly advised against it and the one hour tour ended up being perfect for our family.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ben_Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMike T, Owner at Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thanks Ben for the review. Hope to see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

it was very fun--he is knowledgeable; leaves on time; and makes the cruise a fun experience for guests.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMike T, Owner at Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thanks Jon for the review. Glad you enjoyed the tour. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our group of eleven was so pleased with this tour. Captain Mike was a great guide, very knowledgeable and full of interesting details. The biggest surprise was that whenever someone spotted something, he took the boat right over and gave us all a close-up look. We saw several gators, a snake, and birds, not to mention the lovely homes. We've been on several of these river tours and by far, Captain Mike has the best one we've done. It's very reasonable and if you have a large group, he will work with you on the price. We had a few older folks and a couple of handicapped people. There was no problem in boarding. Oh, and be sure to eat at Stumpknockers. Fantastic seafood and good service.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMike T, Owner at Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

So glad to have such great customers return time and time again. Look forward to next time. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises also viewed

Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to Captain Mike's Lazy River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing