We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way and good food”
Review of Bentlys Restaurant Inc - CLOSED

Bentlys Restaurant Inc
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "My Friends Place" is a casual,full service. family friendly restaurant serving lunch and dinner with full liquor service. We prepare our soups, salad dressings and gravies fresh. We also serve real homemade mashed potatoes, mac and cheese and more. Food is freshly prepared to order.
N.Central, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Out of the way and good food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Menu includes several homemade choices, most seem abover average, Also includes the general necessities, and some usually good specials.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nocents49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Fl
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wow, what a lobster dinner”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Decided to try Bently's Restaurant in Dunnellon, FL last evening with friends. It is a little bit of a trip - perhaps 15-20 minutes - but worth the ride.

The ambiance of the restaurant - tableclothes, nice lighting, room between tables, etc. made an impression from the start.

Our waiter, Daniel, was exceedingly pleasant and helpful and sure on the ball.

Their wine list was reasonably priced and the scotch our friend had was a "good pour" as I am told the saying goes.

We all enjoyed a complimentary opener -- a small piece of baked potato with a nice cream cheese type of topping.

The shrimp appetizer looked LARGE, and was enhanced by three different fruits around the base. The escargot was a bit diffeent than what we are used to - a creamy sauce, but satisfying as well, particularly because of the very nice and fresh bread around it.

The lobster dinner was great - particularly for the price - including a great salad, fresh with nuts and fruit (could have almost made a meal of it) as well as a potato and fresh vegetables. Donce very nicely.

The menu is extensive, though my husband was a little disappointed that they were out of rack of lamb. Guess that's a very expensive meat for restaurants these days.

The men had two very rich looking desserts - a key lime pie and a chocolate (something), which both said was very good.

Although it was a little warm for us in the restaurant, management quickly adjusted it for us.

We will return!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickieB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good -- and reasonably prices”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

So this was a surprise. From the outside this building with it's metal roof doesn't look like much. Inside the decor is a little unfriendly too -- but the staff are the exact opposite! Very nice folks, a few professionals and -- seemingly -- a bunch of local kids. Pretty expansive lunch and dinner menus and (for those who care) a fair drinks list too. my beloved had the house salad and quiche -- which delighted her. I had the Asiago beef pannini with steak fries -- good man's food. Then we both pigged out on dessert. Virgin Dacquiris were a special treat, and all for $50 including the tip.
The area isn't exactly overrun with fine dining options ... but this is a very fair mid-level option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50 star restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is without a doubt one of the best restaurants that I have ever been to. The service is awesome and the food is also awesome. A bit pricy but money well spent. The perfect place for a special occasion.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Valentines Day from Hell”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went there for a romantic dinner on Valentines Day. They had a fixed menu special for that night. I ordered a chicken marsala that came with pasta w/ red sauce &a veggie. The chicken was burnt. They put all the food on the same plate so the red sauce mixed with the marsala and vice a versa. As a result, all the flavors mixed and created one very unpleasant flavor (like dirty burnt oil). The plate was overloaded and a drippy greasy mess. It wasnt a cheap dinner either. Bentleys is a more expensive than the neighborhood places. I sent it back. It really was inedible. The owner was rude, gave me dirty looks and I was not offered anything else. I would never go back there again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentlys Restaurant Inc also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing