We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good -- and reasonably prices”
Review of Bentlys Restaurant Inc - CLOSED

Bentlys Restaurant Inc
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "My Friends Place" is a casual,full service. family friendly restaurant serving lunch and dinner with full liquor service. We prepare our soups, salad dressings and gravies fresh. We also serve real homemade mashed potatoes, mac and cheese and more. Food is freshly prepared to order.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good -- and reasonably prices”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

So this was a surprise. From the outside this building with it's metal roof doesn't look like much. Inside the decor is a little unfriendly too -- but the staff are the exact opposite! Very nice folks, a few professionals and -- seemingly -- a bunch of local kids. Pretty expansive lunch and dinner menus and (for those who care) a fair drinks list too. my beloved had the house salad and quiche -- which delighted her. I had the Asiago beef pannini with steak fries -- good man's food. Then we both pigged out on dessert. Virgin Dacquiris were a special treat, and all for $50 including the tip.
The area isn't exactly overrun with fine dining options ... but this is a very fair mid-level option.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50 star restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is without a doubt one of the best restaurants that I have ever been to. The service is awesome and the food is also awesome. A bit pricy but money well spent. The perfect place for a special occasion.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Valentines Day from Hell”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went there for a romantic dinner on Valentines Day. They had a fixed menu special for that night. I ordered a chicken marsala that came with pasta w/ red sauce &a veggie. The chicken was burnt. They put all the food on the same plate so the red sauce mixed with the marsala and vice a versa. As a result, all the flavors mixed and created one very unpleasant flavor (like dirty burnt oil). The plate was overloaded and a drippy greasy mess. It wasnt a cheap dinner either. Bentleys is a more expensive than the neighborhood places. I sent it back. It really was inedible. The owner was rude, gave me dirty looks and I was not offered anything else. I would never go back there again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Service - Good Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had lunch at this restaurant and was very pleased. The service was exceptional. The decor was nice enough not real modern but still a lovely atomosphere - tables had white table clothes..which was a nice touch. You can order from the menu or from the lunch special...For $6.00 you get a couple of choices of entrees or you can build a 1/2 sandwich with a cup soup, or side salad or other options....Not bad for the price. I ordered fried fish basket....Fish was very good...standard steak fries - no big deal and a small cup of coleslaw...Not a lot of food but for the price it was decent...I could have ordered from the menu as well....

I plan to come back for dinner....the dinner menu offered a lot of interesting options so I have high hopes our dinner experience will be as nice.

We had a terrific server - very attentive and friendly....really knew what he was doing...

Overall we had a great experience...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok Food, Great Service and Salads”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Restaurant is in a metal structure with bad or no landscaping ( but someone actually placed their landscaping sign outside the restarant, what a way to NOT get customers). On our first visit after reading some great reviews, we were all disappointed, mark the restaurant off our list.

I had the Haddock Au Gratin which was too fishy and overdone; the mahi mahi with horseradish crust was not any better, my husband did not eat his meal. Friends steak was not tasty, she asked them to add a horseradish crust which they did upon request and she said it improved the lack of flavor, but still only so-so. The Bentlys salad was delish and everyone enjoyed that and the homemade clam chowder soup was also very good. Warm crusty bread also very good. Our server DJ was pleasant and effecient, actually want you want in a server.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanarob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentlys Restaurant Inc also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing