We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a day trip”

Rainbow Springs State Park
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a day trip”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

For the past 5 years my family and i have spent one of the days of our family vacation at the State Park. We come every year and it never gets old. We look forward to walking the paths of the park, seeing the waterfalls and looking at the cages to the old zoo. After weve walked around for a couple of hours we always go swimming in the cool spring. Dont forget your mask and snorkle!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    126
    26
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dragonflys”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of the best family outings in years. Brought our rafts and drinks and spent the day floating lazily down the river. A deceased family member was a collector of dragonflys so when a large group of dragonflys landed on each of us as we floated we felt she was with us. Next time I will bring snacks..the kids got a little hungry. Water is crystal clear with lots to see when diving underwater.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great family experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The park is clean and the water is lovely. You can rent kyaks and canoes for a trip down the river. A very picturesque park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice green spring park”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Small springs and waterfalls. Nice nature walk. Clear water for swimming and kayaking or paddle boating.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A "Must-See" State Park”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We saw this in the mid-70's before it was aquired by the state for a park. We were curious as to how it had changed. The "old attraction" feel is all around you, but at the same time, you feel grateful that someone in the Florida government (many people) had the common sense to not let this fall to a developer. It is a jewel in the crown of the park system. ALL state parks have suffered from a lack of funding, but this one has soldiered on and still offers a LOT of breathtaking scenery for just a few dollars entrance fee. The canoe/kayak rental is right on site, but the fees for that seemed high to us. All in all, this park is definitely one to put on your list of places to visit while here in Central Florida.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank motelmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Springs State Park also viewed

Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Rainbow Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing