We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE.. A DUNNELLON GEM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop

The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Dunnellon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 352-489-4708 phone number
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE.. A DUNNELLON GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have lived in the area for 20+ years and I have to tell you.. this is the place the locals frequent. GOOD food, GREAT service, family atmosphere.. you can't go wrong. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner (I suggest the chicken friend steak or liver and onions) or just a piece of pie and coffee.. ALWAYS GOOD.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    79
    31
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped by quickly for pie to go. Great service! The waitresses were extremely tolerant and kind to our crazy kids as the decided on pie. Oh, and the pie was pretty yummy too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flies everywhere and dog hair in my pie”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited awhile back and there where a a strange amount of flies buzzing around us. I stopped in for a piece of pie and when they were brought it out there was big black dog hair sticking up in the middle of it. Apparently the owner or cook let's his dog in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pie.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wonderful pot roast, and the pies are awesome. The ambiance is less than great, but the service is friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Central_Florida_MJH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing To Brag About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I have been here three times, once for breakfast and twice for lunch. Many of the locals recommended this place to us. Honestly, I don't know why. The service was ok, the food is average and the restaurant building itself is nothing to brag about. We were told the pies were great and I tried one type but I wasn't impressed. Maybe because I bake from scratch was the reason. I seriously doubt if we will back here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbea14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop also viewed

 
Dunnellon, Central Florida
Dunnellon, Central Florida
 

Been to The Front Porch Restaurant & Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing