We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much shade”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunnellon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not much shade”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We camped here w a group and enjoyed the campground. Most sites are not shaded, but we used fans and tent shades. Sites are big and well spread out. Certainly did think they were on top of each other. We tubed from state park. $10 and change per person for tube and tram.
Will certainly return - will probably stay away from hot summer months here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank tennillebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    52
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
89
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've stayed here several times and thoroughly enjoy it. Yes, there is very little shade, but you can pick a site so that you get the morning sun and it's not too bad. #13 is the best site! While at the river, we watched the bald eagle, saw sandhill cranes, a pair of pileated woodpeckers and a hawk. We drove over to the Springs and hiked the trails. The azaleas were in bloom, it was early morning and very few people there. My husband has been coming here since the 40's and remembers the old rides and enjoys talking to the rangers about the old facilities. The did have a fire in the gift shop around Christmas and it and the snack bar are now closed. And only 1 waterfall is running. We spent an afternoon visiting the antiques shops in Dunnellon and another day drove up to Cedar Key. A great place to use as a base camp to go visiting the nature coast of FL or, like us, a quiet, quick place for a nice mid week getaway

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nanaannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Rainbow Springs was a highlight of our Florida holiday.
We did not camp there, but did spend an afternoon exploring the springs and the trails of the park. The property was a popular theme park from the 1930s-1970s, until losing favor to newer attractions like Disneyworld (c.1970) and other Orlando locations.

Florida State Parks purchased the land in the '70s and have allowed it to revert to the wild, though there are still relics of its theme park days evident throughout the park. Ruins of a small zoo, rodeo grounds, and man-made waterfalls are interesting footnotes to its former life. There used to be glass bottom boat tours and an aerial tram way, both long gone. However, you can rent canoes and kayaks at a concessionaire inside the park, and cruise the beautifully clear blue-green springs. There's a buoyed-off swimming area for easy access to the year-round 72 degree water. Lots of fish can be spotted by the naked eye, because the water is so amazingly clear. (Note: there are also warning signs about alligators!)

Other hightlights: Beautiful dense tropical forests, and interesting birds. Plus a butterfly garden. The visitor center is well-stocked with park history, books and souvenirs and the staff is helpful and informative.

We really enjoyed Rainbow Springs State Park and will be sure to visit again next time we're in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank GhiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I saw that many campers thought the camp sites were on top of each other, but I guess I'm used to Florida campgrounds and thought the sites were decently set apart. Very clean grounds. We have a trailer, but there are separate sites for RVs and tents.

Camping sites are waling distance from the river, or you can pull your car over to the ranger station and it is a short 1/4 of a mile walk. Not sure why they don't have parking closer. That is one suggestion I would make.

I saw bunnies running around last night. There are owls, and of course gators. It is about 20 miles to Crystal River to swim with the manatees. A good overall experience.

Room Tip: We had lots of shade on our site. There are two separate camping areas, we were in site #50 which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This campground is like a parking lot cut into slots for RV's. BUT there are some tent friendly spots site 12 and the sites to either side have shade and back on to woods. The "tent" area is in a back corner also backs to woods. Sites are tight and not very private. We had a good site and enjoyed the kayaking on the spring. It is a very beautiful place. The river/spring is long and you can spend the day floating, swimming etc.. However that is all the campground offers no hikes, just the spring. A note to parents bring bikes for the kids, the camp ground is paved and my kids had a blast riding around. I am torn, I would love to see the spring again but not sure about camping experience.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We take this trip with several families every year. Go thru the state park rather than the county for shorter organized trip. The fee includes a tram to the river and even a short tram ride back. The new company proving the service does a great job. No more lines, so easy. Make sure you arrive early for parking. Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tootsie0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

As other reviews have said, no trees and very sunny campground. Sites are right on top of each other, and it looks like a parking lot with all the RVs lined up. There are a few (6?) tent only sites which were nice with grass and trees. The actual Rainbow Springs park where the spring is is LOVELY, but you have to drive there. Looks like it's out of a movie - rolling hills, beautiful grounds, BLUE, clear gorgeous spring. This is actually one of the prettiest springs we've been to in FL, and we have been to many! You also need to drive to go tubing (about 15 minutes), but we had a great time floating down the clear river for about 2 1/2 hours.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnellon
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
3.8 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
72 reviews
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
16.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
16.4 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Springs State Park

Property: Rainbow Springs State Park
Address: 18185 SW 94th St, Dunnellon, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Dunnellon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dunnellon
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Rainbow Springs State Park Hotel Dunnellon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing