We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in a good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is an older hotel (probably originally built in the 60s) which has been renovated recently. Also a small hotel (only 54 rooms). The rooms are tastefully decorated, and very clean. The hotel is adjacent to a Marina, and on the water, although no beach. The pool is nice, but average. There is a very good restaurant with bar (Bon Apetit) on the grounds, but different ownership. Downtown Dunnedin is very charming and an easy 1 block walk from the hotel. The town has numerous shops, restaurants and bars, with an active night life. A nice hotel in a relaxed sitting. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 939 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

The building design on this property is weird. Your front door, window and outdoor seating area all face a crowded parking lot. Yes, there is a marina behind it but it's still a parking lot. Fortunately the rooms have a back door where you are directly on the water. I don't understand why the rooms aren't focused that way. We actually moved our outdoor chairs to the back door where it was quiet and we were right on the water. The one problem with this is the back doors need to be SLAMMED to shut properly. We weren't the only guests enjoying the back view and the constant SLAMMING was annoying.

Our room was TINY, yes we booked the least expensive option (2 queens on the first floor) but I've had closets that were bigger than this room. One bed had to be right up against the window. The bathroom, mini-fridge and closet were configured in such a way that you had to close the bathroom door to open either the fridge or the closet. We stayed there for 3 nights and it was uncomfortable. I expect more from a Best Western Plus and for the money we paid.

Can't really complain about the staff or overall service. The room was clean, the pool and hottub were good. We were given vouchers for a hot breakfast at the restaurant which we did not expect.

The location is good once you're parked. It is a problem to get through traffic in the small town and at night the busy restaurant has valet parkers. Guests are given free priority spots but you have to search them out if it's busy.

The little town has a vibrant shopping/night life a short walk away.

Room Tip: 2nd floor better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hevachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYachtHarborInn, Manager at Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you liked the service and enjoyed the clean room, outdoor temperature regulated pool and sit down hot breakfast at the waterfront restaurant. We are a historic property and were built in 1968 , the windows face the marina or pool and the backside has a common walkway overlooking the inter coastal waters. The structure was apparently built this way in that era to be more hurricane resistant and solid firm doors were built to stand the pressure of wind and rain if a storm hit the property. We also have three types of room, you were in a basic standard room. If you need space we recommend a deluxe or a suite for a more spacious room with a wet bar. We hope you consider staying with us again.

Regards
Aparna Pawar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is the second year we've stayed at this location and are very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms are clean and neat with comfortable beds. It is located on the water in Dunedin adjacent a harbor and available charter fishing boats and six miles from Innisbrook Resort & Golf Course. Shopping, restaurants, ice cream shops are within a two block walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Front desk staff was very nice. Room was infested with termites! Termites were all over the bed and inside the pillows! We went to the front desk and informed them! Our roomwas upgraded to a suite. Upon changing rooms, to our surprise the suite was infested too! Termite wings everywhere and live termites. Awaiting a call from the manager for a refund! We did not stay but found another hotel to stay the night.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYachtHarborInn, Manager at Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us .We are glad the front desk was helpful and tried to help you relocate to another room. We pride ourselves in clean rooms and are disappointed in ourselves that the room was not up-to standards. We have arranged for special termites treatment services to come the next day and take care of the issue. We called the number on file the first thing next morning and spoke you your husband and apologized for the experience and informed him that we had refunded the money the same night of the incident.

Regards
Aparna Pawar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed at this very clean and well located hotel a number of times. The staff is delightful, bikes to rent, a block walk into Main Street Dunedin, and cool breezes off of the bay. The beds are comfortable, rooms are well maintained and clean, and there's a very nice restaurant that is full of locals. The pool is simple, but very nice and refreshing.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are about the same. I prefer the second floor. There's a door on each side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhuting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The services provided by this hotel for the wedding were superb. The food was good. The location is great, near the marina. The layout of the rooms, with a balcony and a great view was relaxing. Although the hotel in not new, built in the mid-70s, it was well maintained and very clean. They should provide a complimentary breakfast, like their competition.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank jim_sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYachtHarborInn, Manager at Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so happy you decided to have your wedding at our hotel . We are glad to hear that the service was “superb” and the food was good. We hope you come back for to celebrate your wedding anniversaries each year with us.
Regards
Aparna Pawar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is in a good location for checking out downtown Dunedin, a nice town with lots of good restaurants and friendly vibe. Everything is within walking distance and if you're inclined for a bit of exercise, the Pinellas Trail runs right through town. We had a second story standard king room with 'beautiful bay view' according to the website. Actually it was was more like 'parking lot, marina, and way over to the right you can see the bay view'. The room was a bit small but nice enough with large flat screen tv, micro/fridge and all the other usual amenities. The bed was firm (no topper) but comfortable enough. The main drawback to our room was the ac unit; it was completely inadequate for cooling the room. We had it set at 68 to 70 degrees and although it came on constantly, you could barely feel the air and it never got cooler than 77, even at night. We like to sleep cool so this was a disappointment.
We used the breakfast voucher one morning ($7.50 per person) for omelets, coffee and juice and although the food was good, I can't say it was a real bargain. The waitress was really nice, however as was everyone else we encountered, from front desk personnel to housekeeping. All in all this was not a bad place to stay, but for the money we expected better, at least a working air conditioner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdozerGroveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYachtHarborInn, Manager at Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel, enjoyed the walk on the trail, loved all the amenities in the room and breakfast. We are also glad, all our staff personnel’s were able to assist you . We apologize for the AC not working efficiently and have taken your feedback to change the settings on all our thermostats. We hope you come visit us again.
Regards
Aparna Pawar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Beso Del Sol Resort
Beso Del Sol Resort
#4 of 8 in Dunedin
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,513 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Island Cay Hotel - Clearwater Beach
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn

Address: 150 Marina Plz, Dunedin, FL 34698-5703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: $148 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Dunedin, Florida hotel located on Florida's West Coast is a boutique waterfront resort with access to the Gulf of Mexico. Located at Dunedin's Marina Plaza, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn overlooks beautiful St. Joseph's Sound and offers vacationers a friendly port with immediate access to the open Gulf of Mexico. The rooms have either balconies or patios. Each hotel room is comfortably equipped with high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO®, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Have breakfast (additional charges may apply) for two at Tampa Bay's number one waterfront restaurant, Bon Appetit, located on the premises. Guests can enjoy a complimentary USA Today available in the lobby. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn offers superb banquet services for special occasions, including sunset waterfront weddings. Charter boats are available at the marina for sightseeing and for world famous Gulf of Mexico deep sea fishing. Nearby attractions include Busch Gardens®, beaches, Pinellas Trail, Sponge Docks-Tarpon Springs and the downtown area. Blue Jays spring training baseball fans frequently stay at this Florida Coast hotel for its convenient access to the ballpark. To enjoy the best of the Florida Gulf Coast, reserve a room today at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Hotel Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing