We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance, Food, Service: EXCELLENT!”

The Black Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 174 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the Black Pearl Restaurant, creating a one of a kind dining experience is our goal, every dish from the warm ciabatta bread to the homemade vanilla bean ice cream is made in house, and to order especially for you. We believe life is too short to eat bad food.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

It had been several years since dining at The Black Pearl and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The new decor is sophisticated, quiet and inviting. The menu has a great variety of dishes; Our meal - filet with a fantastic sauce and planked salmon was excellent and beautifully presented. We were not rushed but not ignored. We were celebrating our anniversary and could not have chosen a better restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for The Black Pearl Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went to the Black Pearl for a birthday party and this restaurant really lived up to it's billing. Everything was excellent. I highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank clwinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I just came from the Black Pearl in Dunedin, Fl. March 2, 2014. We were celebrating out 52nd, anniversary and figured this would be a nice place. My wife had the Crab Imperial and said it was excellent. I had the New Zealand Rack of Lamb as recommended. I've had many Rack of Lamb and this was the worst. It was to be medium rare, but it was mostly rare or raw. I memtioned this to the waiter, but he said maybe its just that first one. That was not the case and he never returned to find out how the rest of it was. The rest was no better. It was very tough, chewy, and mostly raw. The fact that nothing was done was management was very disappointing. Needless to say, I don't believe I was be returning to the Black Pearl any time soon.

Ernie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ernest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzrock45, Owner at The Black Pearl Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Ernie,

My apologies for not being there to assure that you were satisfied with your Dinner. However.
All of our servers , and Chefs are there for your dining pleasure. Though we do not have to replace
dinners very often , it does happen once in a while. At any time anyone is unhappy with anything
that is served , we are always happy to replace it , or to delete it from their check. If for any reason you were charged for your meal , then We will be very happy to refund that amount.


Hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you in the near future;
Sincerely
Rene - The Black Pearl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Friends of ours said we had to eat here so they made reservations and off we went. This restaurant lived up to all their hype. Great food, great service, wonderful wine list. Mainly French continental food done perfectly. And main street Dunedin is very nice for an after dinner stroll. If you want a perfect dining experience in a small town this is the place.

2  Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This small restaurant serves elegant food in classy surroundings. We had a very enthusiastic waiter everything was amazing and Geoff's favourite. But he is probably right as the food we had was hot and tasty and beautifully presented all be it our table was tiny and our wine had to sit at another table.

They seemed to have no record of our booking but luckily they were quiet. We had tried to get a table previously so a booking is definitely necessary. A little over the top but wonderful food and fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jacqy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Black Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing