We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lotsa Choices”

Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Strachan's Ice Cream & Desserts is just like the old-fashioned mom-and-pop ice cream shops of yesteryear. We touch memories from the past and create memories for the future. Everything in our shop is made in-house! We have something for everyone -homemade ice cream, award-winning carrot cake, creamy and delicious homemade fudge, sorbet, key lime pie topped with swiss merengue, key lime pie dipped in chocolate on a stick. coconut cake, homemade brownies, old-fashioned banana splits and much more. Visit us at our other location in Palm Harbor! Same delicious ice cream and desserts!
Restaurant details
Description: Strachan's Ice Cream & Desserts is just like the old-fashioned mom-and-pop ice cream shops of yesteryear. We touch memories from the past and create memories for the future. Everything in our shop is made in-house! We have something for everyone -homemade ice cream, award-winning carrot cake, creamy and delicious homemade fudge, sorbet, key lime pie topped with swiss merengue, key lime pie dipped in chocolate on a stick. coconut cake, homemade brownies, old-fashioned banana splits and much more. Visit us at our other location in Palm Harbor! Same delicious ice cream and desserts!
Brooksville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lotsa Choices”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went to their US 19 store and enjoyed it. There are a lot of choices and we got some help from a few locals. Very good ice cream!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    145
    33
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream and baked goods”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My kids loved the ice cream here. I am lactose intolerant so I tried the carrot cake and it was very rich and tasty. The staff was very nice and it was busy but had no line. It was a little pricy but the do have good coupons in the local tourist publications.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“worth the drive if your near Dunedin”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

These guys have great ice cream and it is fresh! They also help out with the local band students and give them free ice cream on fundraiser nights. They do get packed and the ice cream is a little pricey but its worth it. The parking sucks and they don't take credit or debit cards. We would go more often if I didn't have to make a trip to the bank first. Definitely a must if you are in Dunedin.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I cannot remember ever eating richer, creamier, better tasting ice cream. It is not cheap, but it is worth every penny - and the serving size is ENORMOUS! I got a two-scooper and it was all I could do to finish it. But I did because every bite is a festival for your mouth!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Delicious desserts, I love the frozen custard and the homemade carrot cake. All the employees are very friendly, just wish the palm harbor location had more seating available out front.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebowles272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing