We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts

Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Strachan's Ice Cream & Desserts is just like the old-fashioned mom-and-pop ice cream shops of yesteryear. We touch memories from the past and create memories for the future. Everything in our shop is made in-house! We have something for everyone -homemade ice cream, award-winning carrot cake, creamy and delicious homemade fudge, sorbet, key lime pie topped with swiss merengue, key lime pie dipped in chocolate on a stick. coconut cake, homemade brownies, old-fashioned banana splits and much more. Visit us at our other location in Palm Harbor! Same delicious ice cream and desserts!
Level Contributor
357 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here today as we visited Dunedin. Ice cream was really nice and as an added bonus the girls who served it were pretty hot too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    134
    32
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozona, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My ice cream shop since I was 6”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm used to the one in Ozona near my elementary school. I was at the Dunedin location the other day, everyone is so nice. Its extremely well managed and I see 50 people getting ice cream FAST! They have key Lime Pie on a stick, a serious weakness of mine...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vitamansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weather hot, Ice Cream good..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Your standard ice cream shop. Cones were fresh and ice cream was great! They also have a walk-up window where you can order from outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffinstpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful- a true delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

what a wonderful place to follow up with our 'dining' experience today, the minute we walked through the door, i knew we had found a sweet spot!

the smells of the waffle cones were very enticing, and I couldn't wait for my double scoop!

thank you for a great dessert!

DELIGHTED in dunedin

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1vetnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Like taking a step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It isn't exactly a restaurant although they have plenty of home made deserts like carrot cake, fudge, and Key Lime pie to almost take your breath away. It is an old fashioned ice cream shop with super generous scoops of some of the best ice cream I can remember. Located at the West end of Dunedin's really walkable Main street. The cooler has those Ne-hi beverages, orange and lime, you will remember (If you are of a certain age) along with dozens of craft Root Beer drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Strachan’s Ice Cream and Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing