We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small antiquated ballpark.”

Florida Auto Exchange Stadium - Dunedin Blue Jays
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Dunedin
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Small antiquated ballpark.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The park with many names. It will always be known as Grant Field to me.
Used by the Toronto Blue Jays in March for Spring Training and the Dunedin Blue Jays - Florida State League team in the summer. All the seats are in the sun, and are made of hard blue plastic...it's hot! Wear sunscreen. Parking is extremely limited since ballpark is located in a residential neighborhood.

This park is not as nice as the Phillie's Brighthouse Park to the South, or the Yankee's GS Field in Tampa. Most parks are now being built with an openness so that you can still see the game when you are out of your seat, also many new parks are built so that you can actually walkaround the entire field and not miss a pitch...such is not the case here.

If you have never been here or if you are a Jays fan, then visit to check it out. Otherwise, it's no big deal visiting here. On a plus side, it's an easier park to get autographs from the players, especially down the lines in the foul territory.

The ballpark food choices here is just so-so. They can do so much better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    99
    37
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ballpark for Games”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This ballpark for minor league games and also spring training games has a nice stadium. The only downfall is that there is barely any shade in the park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for the English BUT WATCH THE BALL”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to watch the Blue Jays in a game against a team with Crabs in the title just to get our first flavour (flavor) of a true American sport. The staff were excellent and loved the fact that we English were trying to sample a piece of Americana culture. We were impressed that the 200+ spectators really got into the game and those around us were helpful in explaining some of the rules.

During the 8th innings a shout of "Heads" went up. My 17 year old son looked up and received the baseball (at c90 mph) straight into his nose. Blood everywhere and towels were supplied in abundance. We missed the end of the game as we rushed to the ER, chaperoned by one of the staff. I have been in touch with the general manager of the team and he has promised that my son receives a signed baseball from the team but nothing has materialised after 3 weeks. This was a little disappointing as my son suffered a broken nose and has had to have this reset in the UK. At least he will have a story to tell but the after care was a little disappointing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fordandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a game, but bring a cushion”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been to dozens of games here. Always a great time.

Friendly staff, fun promotions. Good ballpark food.

If you like being close to the action, this stadium is for you. For all the stadiums I've been to, I don't believe there is another where the stands are this close to the plate. It really makes you feel like you're part of the team. One of the best venues...view and action-wise.

There's only one major downfall, the seats. They are some of the most uncomfortable I've ever sat in. They are a fixed plastic seat. They are almost flat with no contours to them. This is one stadium where you not only need a 7th inning stretch, but a 3rd, 4th and 5th inning stretch as well.

I love how it's nestled right in the middle of town as well.

I just wish they had better seats...bring a cushion, you'll need it.

Also worth noting, all seats are (for 2012) $6, general admission. So you can sit, front row right behind the plate for $6! in nearby Clearwater same seat will cost an additional $3.50.
Great bargain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IamSneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Auto Exchange Stadium - Dunedin Blue Jays also viewed

 

Been to Florida Auto Exchange Stadium - Dunedin Blue Jays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing