We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Moon Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
474 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2007

We stayed here as our family winters in the RV resort behind it. In gist, I wish we could take this room (a deluxe), this staff and everything about this inn, WITH us wherever we go--and we travel a lot!

The room was immaculate,and wonderfully decorated and full of what we needed in the kitchen and bathroom areas, as well(utensils, hair dryer, etc) the staff courteous and helpful. The adjoining RV park is a great place for a swim in a very well-kept recreational area, or a walk around the RV park to view the travel trailers and the nice folks and their pets, there. Everyone was friendly and spoke to us often.

This is a great vacation for travellers of all ages; we are newleyweds, at 50, and found it romantic, great restaurants(Tarpon Springs' Greek food! wow!), and things to see and do in this area. Caladesi island truly IS one of the top beaches in the USA--clean, calm, beautiful and family friendly, but yet still a great place for a romantic walk,picnic,and searching together for shells, sanddollars and starfish!

We plan to go back to this area and we would NEVER think of staying anywhere else but the Blue Moon Inn. Value, excellence and sheer enjoyment!

  • Liked — Everything--especially the location, the area is quiet, yet fun
  • Disliked — that we had to leave it! :)
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a Publix right around the corner to stock the kitchen, look for inexpensive, great breakfast in the area, too!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2006

We have been staying at the Blue Moon for three years each April and love it. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are very good, and the location is very convenient to Honeymoon Island. The housekeepers, Maria and Julieanna, do an excellent job and have won the "White Glove Award" more than once. We always feel at home at the Blue Moon. The only constructive criticism I can offer is that they need to have a hot tub at the pool. Other than that, fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Let's_go_see_it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed three nights in a Deluxe room and another night in a standard (after a road trip to South Florida).

EVERYTHING was Great!

My seven year old son says the Deluxe room is much better, he was impressed with the outstanding bathroom. Larger than some hotel rooms I’ve seen- Jacuzzi, large shower, separate WC. Must be ten different light/fan combinations.

This is one of the best places we have stayed regardless of price, so it seems odd to me that in the value category The Blue Moon Inn only gets 4 out of 5. This is a MUCH better deal than anything comparable on Alt 19, from Clearwater to Tarpon Springs. When I tried to find the location using the address, mapquest didn’t find it. Try ‘Blue Heron Blvd’. That is the stub road into the RV Park.

If you want to stay anywhere within fifteen miles, you should seriously consider the Blue Moon Inn—it’s just that nice.

The rooms are spacious. High ceilings. Clean. Well appointed. The suites have two TVs, two ceiling fans. Both deluxe and standard have a little kitchenette, thoughtfully stocked with dishes, even wine glasses and a cork screw.

I found out about the Blue Moon from this site. I read the (bogus) reports about the evil management and figured they weren’t likely to be correct. Frankly if you have any problems with the management of the Blue Moon Inn, you have it coming and everyone else will be cheering them on!

This place is outstanding. They think of everything. The pool is clean. The breakfast in the morning is very nice, fresh fruit, pastry, cereals, breads etc. It isn’t a Vegas buffet, but if you are disappointed with the spread you are sick, my friend, very sick. Even a newspaper on the porch in the morning. And, yes, wireless internet!

The only reservation I can think of is this: if you have some rowdy teenagers, this probably isn’t the best spot. Everyone else: Honeymooners, couples, families with younger kids? Stay at the Blue Moon Inn. Spring for the Deluxe room if there is one available. If not, stay at the Blue Moon Inn anyhow.

The location is great, a short drive right along the water all the way from Clearwater to Tarpon Springs. By the way, don’t be afraid of trying the ‘Sandbar” a half mile down Alt 19 (across Causeway from the Walgreen) like the guy who recommended it to me says: “this is the kind of place you go to Florida to find.” Grilled Tuna sandwich. Rare = sushi. Yum. You’ll be the only non local there.

In parting, fellow travelers, I would like to say this: if I was running an inn, I would hope to shout I would run it like the Blue Moon Inn.

Respectfully,

A family from Seattle.

Helpful?
6 Thank exhibitsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Moon Inn while visiting His Father & stepmom who live in the RV Park behind it. it was one of the nicest places we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The rooms are huge and clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the best part the jacuzzi tub and seperate room for the toilet and shower so clean and lovley. We would surly stay here agian and tell any one who was in the area of this great establishment.
Thanks for all the little extras we apreciated it! The Negri's

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2006

We visit the Pinellas area quite often. We have stayed in many hotels over the past 2 years and found the Blue Moon Inn wonderful! The cleanliness and overall quality of the facility was great. Thank you for the hospitality.

Tim, Anne & Samantha Allen

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2005

This is one beautiful property -as good as it gets. Filled with charm, a gorgeous manicured property, many personal touches, impeccable cleanliness, first class service and very friendly staff.

My husband and I have stayed at many Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton hotels around North America. The Blue Moon Inn won us over. First class all the way. Our deluxe suite was just that- very, very clean and comfortable and what a beautiful layout, and huge bathroom! Lovely, lovely living room with a wet bar.

Wonderful patio outside our living room.

This property has it all- beautiful rooms, intimate setting, great pool area, and gardens, and close to everything.

But it is the staff that made it. Every morning they serve a lovely, upscale contintental breakfast that is hosted by warm and friendly staff.

Sheri and Annie and the team take the time to make sure your every whim is cared for.

This great property is perfect for familys (lots to do), romantic getaways (loved the huge jacuzzi tub and gorgeous oversized shower), and restful days in the sunny south.

Definitely worth the trip if you want first class with warm and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2005

My husband, child and I thought the appearance of the Inn to be beautiful. The playground was nice and open. The management had also provided us with a pack and play for our child to sleep in. On the second day of our stay we had a fire ant infestation through all of our luggage....hundreds of them. Sherri (manager) told us we must have brought them in from somewhere. How could we have brought hundreds of fire ants without knowing it? During our checkout we were accused of scamming the inn and breaking the pack and play. My daughter is a 21 pound 3 year old. HOw could she possibly break a sturdy piece of equipment? We were extremely unhappy with the service. It left us with a bad taste in our mouths. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Moon Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2005
We always welcome constructive criticism to enable us to maintain the highest standard. This review, however, is deliberately misleading. The writer fails to mention their family friends (2 adults + 2 teens) who stayed in the room next to them and were in and out of their room for 3 days (see review dated Sept. 8, 2005 from Tracy, Rick, Brittney & Machaela). A family with a baby would not survive in a room infested with fire ants! Our prestigious housekeeping awards and 5 star rating speak for themselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunedin
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yacht Harbor Inn
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clearwater North/Dunedin
2.5 mi away
Beso Del Sol Resort
Beso Del Sol Resort
#4 of 8 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Clearwater FL
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#43 of 95 in Clearwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Inn

Property: Blue Moon Inn
Address: 2920 Alt 19, Dunedin, FL 34698-1501
Location: United States > Florida > Dunedin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Inn is a Deluxe, Key West Style B&B close to Honeymoon and Caladesi Islands and on the Pinellas Trail. Ideal for wedding parties we feature king, jacuzzi suites and double standard suites. Between downtown Dunedin and Tarpon Springs, two unique small cities that have been restored and offer many restaurants, stores, and antique shops. Professional football, baseball, and hockey close by. Clearwater Beach just ten minutes away. less than 2 miles to Honeymoon Island State Park. RV Resort sites available on property. Fenced pet play area. Horseshoes, Shuffleboard, Heated Pool, Playground for Children. Amazing Continental Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing