We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun place! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunedin Fine Art Center

Dunedin Fine Art Center
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 35 years, the Dunedin Fine Art Center (DFAC) has been offering exciting art opportunities in a most welcoming kind of way. St. Petersburg Times writer Lennie Bennett says that DFAC is “the artistic equivalent of a village square,” offering quality experiences to people of all ages. DFAC offers year-round exhibitions in four galleries featuring national, regional and local artists. Classes for students 4 yrs. to 97 yrs. fill 15 studio classrooms and a changing yearly theme makes the David L. Mason Children’s Art Museum a hands-on experience not to be missed. You can take some time to enjoy a delicious lunch or gourmet coffee in the Palm Café, or search out one-of-a-kind gifts in the Gallery Gift Shop. Come out and PLAY at the Dunedin Fine Art Center and see why people say it’s where the ART is!
2 reviews
“What a fun place! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

While visiting Dunedin we had lots of rainy and windy weather so we were looking for indoor activities for my 4 and 6 year old. We found this museum that had a children's center. It had at least 20 art activities for my girls! From making a movie, coloring an Indian mask, cutting out a Chinese lantern, to dressing up and dancing in front of a green screen! We spent several hours there and really could have stayed longer! It was only $3 per child!! The staff was super friendly and helpful. This is a must see if you have children who love art activities!

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAC, General Manager at Dunedin Fine Art Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Glad you and your daughters enjoyed your visit with us at the DLM Children's Art Museum. We look forward to seeing you on the next rainy (or sunny ;-) day! Remember, that admission to the DLM while reasonable as you point out, is FREE to Dunedin Fine Art Center members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,881 reviews
1,039 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
“Art center is going through a complete renovation and enlargement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is going to be a beautiful place once it is completed. It seems that the community wants to raise about $3 million dollars to upgrade this facility. This is not a museum--it is primarily a place to educate and train artists and persons who want to paint, draw, sculpt, etc. They have galleries with the work of local artists for sale, there are many different classes, a cafe and gift shop. Congratulations to Dunedin for developing such a fine facility.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAC, Manager at Dunedin Fine Art Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks Pnemiller. I think our museum quality exhibitions sometimes confuse people about some of our other programs (in fact we were voted "Best Museum" in a recent Visit St. Petersburg/Clearwater Survey)! We look forward to opening our new expanded facility soon, serving over 4000 students a year from all of Tampa Bay (and of course a new Cafe' AND Gift Shop too)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Small but exquisite art museum featuring many local artists works. Nice little gift shop and also a coffee shop. You may wish to bring a picnic lunch, as there is a lovely park area surrounding the art center with picnic tables.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAC, Manager at Dunedin Fine Art Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks so much Kathryn... we think you're a gem too :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Silent Auction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were fortunate to be able to attend the Silent Auction fund raiser while we were in Dunedin. Nice Art Center.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAC, Manager at Dunedin Fine Art Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Congratulations Carol!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome art center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great art center, always making improvements. Café is excellent
The art center offers a variety of classes to locals or those "snowbirds"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFAC, Manager at Dunedin Fine Art Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Kathleen S. - Glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for being so understanding about our "improvements." We're so excited about the additional programming this new space will enable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunedin Fine Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Dunedin Fine Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing